Library Resources for Communication Studies |
|
Home
|
Collection Development Toolkit
|
Associations & Organizations
|
Scholarly Association Conferences |
Communication Studies Listservs
| Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts |
Advertising & International Advertising
Introduction | Subject Keywords | Reference Materials | Periodical Databases/Indexes | Company/Industry Databases | Numerical/Statistical Databases | Web Sites | Associations/Organizations | Journals/Trade Publications
Introduction
This guide is intended to identify the primary resources available for research in the field of advertising/international advertising. One of the primary difficulties associated with advertising research is that, although considered to be an area of mass communication, in reality many of the resources used are actually more closely associated with marketing. Because of this the researcher needs to be familiar with marketing/business materials as well as communication sources. Use of business library collections and collaboration with business librarians is suggested. In addition, there is a distinct difference in the types of materials used by advertising professionals on the creative side of the advertising process. The emphasis of this guide is on the marketing/business side, although some creative materials have also been included.
Suggested Subject Keywords
Advertising
Advertising AND brand name products
Advertising campaigns
Advertising AND management
Advertising AND moral and ethical aspects
Advertising AND new products
Advertising AND psychological aspects
Advertising AND social aspects
Advertising agencies
Advertising laws
Advertising media planning
Communication in marketing
Consumer marketing
Internet advertising
Marketing channels
Marketing AND decision making
Marketing AND management
Marketing AND social aspects
Publicity
Radio advertising
Sales promotion
Television advertising
Reference Materials
Advertising Red Books New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis, 2003-current. ISSN 1548-257X (Agencies); 1549-876X (Advertiser, business classifications).
Bacon's ... Directory Chicago, Ill.: Bacon's Information Inc. ISSN 1088-9639 (Newspaper); 1088-9647 (Radio); 1088-9655 (TV/Cable); 1088-9663 (Magazine).
Black Book Photography (annual publication), New York: Black Book Marketing Group. ISSN 1093-653X.
Clio Awards (annual publication), Gloucester, Mass: Rockport Publishers, Inc.
Editor and Publisher Market Guide (annual publication), New York: The Editor & Publisher Co. ISSN 0362-1200 .
Encyclopedia of Advertising (3 vol.) editors, John McDonough and the Museum of Broadcast Communications, Karen Egolf; illustration editor, Jacqueline V. Reid. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. ISBN 1579581722.
Lifestyle Market Analyst (annual publication), Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service. ISSN 1067-182X.
Magazine Dimensions (annual publication), New York, NY: Media Dynamics, Inc. ISSN 1074-7419.
Marketer's Guide to Media New York, NY: VNU Business Publications, 1992-current, ISSN 1061-7159.
Marketing Scales Handbook, edited by Gordon C. Bruner, Paul J. Hensel, and Karen E James. Chicago, Ill.: American Marketing Association, 1992-2001, ISBN: 0877572267; 9780877572268
Snapshots New York, NY: Media Market Resources. ISSN 1097-7082.
SRDS publications Des Plaines, IL: SRDS. ISSN 1071-4561 (Direct marketing list); 1078-7887 (Out of home advertising); 1086-8208 (Consumer magazine); 1529-6482 (Newspaper advertising); 1529-6490 (Business publication advertising); 1529-6504 (TV & cable); 1529-6512 (Radio advertising); 1530-8146 (Print media production); 1530-8162 (Hispanic media & market); 1533-8029 (Community publication advertising); 1539-3011 (Circulation).
STARCH Adnorms, Mamaroneck, N.Y.: Starch INRA Hooper.
TV Dimensions (annual publication), New York, N.Y.: Media Dynamics. ISSN 0884-1098.
World Advertising Trends Oxfordshire, England: NTC Publications, 1995-current. ISSN 1744-5477
Periodical Databases/Indexes
Icon Key:
= Paid access
= Free access
= Available electronically
= Available in print
Best Bets:
ABI/Inform Global
Contains content from thousands of journals to help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Indexes/abstracts numerous trade publications and includes some full-text coverage. Coverage from 1971-present.
Vendor site: http://www.proquest.com/products_pq/descriptions/abi_inform.shtml
Business and Company Resource Center (Gale)
Provides full text company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and industry news and information. Coverage from 1980-present.
Vendor site: http://www.gale.com/BusinessRC/
Business Source Complete / Business Source Premier / Business Source Elite
Business Search Complete offers access to more than 8,800 journals. Business Search Premier and Business Search Elite are subsets of Complete. Premier offers more than 2,300 journals while Elite offers over 1,100 journals.
Vendor site: http://www.ebsco.com/home/
Additional Useful Databases:
Business Periodicals Index / Wilson Business Abstracts / Wilson Business Full Text
Business Periodicals Index has been available online since 1982, with
abstracts since the mid-nineties in Wilson Business Abstracts, and select
full text since 1995 in Wilson Business Full Text.
Vendor site: http://www.hwwilson.com/default.cfm
Communication Abstracts
Provides abstracts covering recent literature in all areas of communication studies. Coverage starts with 1977 and is updated bimonthly.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/factsheets/commabs-set-c.php
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, and indexes publications related to the studies of communication and mass media. It provides abstracts of more than 600 publications, of which about 300 are available in full text.
Vendor site: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=56
Company/Industry Databases:
Best Bets:
Factiva
Provides a single point of access to a deep archive of news and business information from over 8,000 sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and newswires. Company analysis with access to historical market data, interactive charting, financial statements, and company reports from D&B and Investext. Continuously updated.
Vendor site: http://www.factiva.com/
MarketResearch.com
Full text detailed market research reports from leading sources - Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information, with many of the reports ranging from 200 to 400 pages in length and containing charts, tables, and graphs key facts about the topic area. Coverage includes the business-related subject areas of consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and many more. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic within twelve months of release to corporate clients.
Vendor site: http://www.marketresearch.com/
U.S. Business Browser/OneSource
OneSource's database of full text U.S. company and industry reports including news, articles, profiles, industry overviews, company financials, industry norms and ratio comparisons, and Investext reports.
Vendor site: http://www.onesource.com/
Additional Useful Databases:
Hoover's
Delivers thousands of in-depth company profiles that cover company history, officers, products, services, subsidiaries, competitors, and financials.
Vendor site: http://premium.hoovers.com/global/corp/index.xhtml
LexisNexis Academic
Provides full text of newspapers, trade publications, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language sources. Updated daily, it delivers company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Vendor site: http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/
Mintel Reports
Offers in-depth research reports on a variety of products and industries in the U.S. and international marketplace. The content includes consumer psychographics, branding, company profiles, and market share analyses and forecasts.
Vendor site: http://www.reports.mintel.com/
RDS Business and Industry
A multi industry, international database that provides access to full text company, industry, market, and product information. Covers over 600 leading trade and business sources.
Vendor site: http://www.gale.com/pdf/facts/busind.pdf
Numerical/Statistical Databases:
Ad$pender
Provides advertising expenditure information in various media, which can be sorted by category, parent company, subsidiary, and brand. Coverage dating back to 1986 allows viewing trends in spending.
Vendor site: http://www.tns-mi.com/prodAdSpender.htm
Global Market Information Database
Offers statistics on consumer demographics and lifestyle in over 200 countries. Users can customize their statistical reports and export them to spreadsheets. Also available are economic indicator analyses, market research reports, consumer research articles, and company profiles.
Vendor site: http://www.euromonitor.com/GMID.aspx
MRI+Mediamark Reporter
Provides data about consumer demographics, purchasing patterns, and media preference. Users can generate customized reports based on their searches.
Vendor site: http://www.mediamark.com/
TableBase
TableBase is a database comprised of tabular information of a strategic nature. Many of the table records also have textual content that supports the data in the tables. The tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics. Tables are drawn from the more than 1000 sources that go into the Business & Industry database and from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.
Vendor site: http://www.galegroup.com/pdf/facts/table.pdf
Web Sites
Ad*Access
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
An extensive on-line database of over 7,000 advertisments from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisement Collection available from the John W. Hartman Center at Duke University. The images are from U.S. newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955.
Adbusters
http://www.adbusters.org/home/index.html
This group deserves a separate entry as an interesting contrast to current advertising practice. From the site: "We are a global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age."
Adforum.com
http://www.adforum.com
Internet portal to the advertising, marketing and communications industry, with direct links to 18390 agencies in 136 countries. Some restricted access, but includes searchable database of ads.
Advertising @ About.com
http://publicrelations.about.com/?once=true&
AdPitch archive, career resources, research links, etc.
Advertising Council Archives
http://web.library.uiuc.edu/ahx/adcouncil
The Archives, housed at the UIUC Libraries, include both the finished advertisements themselves and materials on policy and campaign formation. Materials include both print and television and radio advertisements; holdings are in a number of formats, including 35 mm film, videocassette, reel-to-reel, and compact disc, as well as print proofs and posters. The collection also includes minutes, notes, and correspondence, allowing the researcher to discover the story behind the ads.
Advertising Principles
http://advertisingprinciples.com/
This site presents evidence-based advertising principles that were abstracted from typical practice, expert opinion, and empirical studies. The site is divided into five sections: Creating ads, evaluating ads, media planning, presenting ad proposals, and evaluating ad proposals.
Advertising World from University of Texas
http://advertising.utexas.edu/world
This source claims to be the most comprehensive Internet collection of websites suitable for advertising and marketing research. A to Z list of links to everything from account planning to outdoor advertising to web site promotion. Primarily commercial sites, but also includes links to research, law and other topics related to advertising. Sponsored by Leo Burnett.
American Advertising Museum
http://www.admuseum.org
The American Advertising Museum is a major exhibition, research and education center, located in Portland, Oregon, which houses the industry's most comprehensive collection of advertising and business artifacts, assembled through contributions and loans from advertising agencies, advertisers, media, private collectors and other museums, including the Smithsonian Institution. The Museum's primary collection is The ADVERTISING TIMELINE, spanning nearly 300 years of American social history.
American Press Institute Journalists Toolbox: Advertising/Marketing Links
http://www.journaliststoolbox.com/newswriting/advertising.html
A portal page with an extensive list of links to advertising and marketing websites, organizations, online newsletters, and research resources.
ClickZStats: Advertising/Marketing
http://www.clickz.com/showPage.html?page=stats/sectors/advertising
This free resource provides articles and statistics on advertisers, advertising placements, and forecasts.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
http://www.bls.gov/cex/
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides data on consumer demographics and expenditure patterns. A wide variety of reports and tables are available for download.
D’Arcy Advertising Collection
http://www.comm.uiuc.edu/darcy/
The D'Arcy Collection includes almost two million original advertisements published between 1890 and 1970, and is a rich source of research information on products advertised by many agencies. While the vast majority of these advertisements appeared in newspapers, magazines and trade journals, there are a few in other forms such as brochures, signs, and programs. Also included are ads from organizational and governmental advertisers such as the American Red Cross, New York City's Lincoln Center, and NATO.
Emergence of American Advertising
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa
Another site from Duke University that antedates the AdAccess site listed above. Presents over 9000 images from 1850-1920 relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
Fifty Years of Coca-Cola TV Advertisements
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ccmphtml/colahome.html
Includes highlights from the Motion Picture Library at the Library of Congress. Covers a variety of television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for a major commercial product. Indexed and keyword searchable.
International Advertising Resource Center
http://www.bgsu.edu/departments/tcom/faculty/ha/intlad1.html
Collects literature and information sources useful to international advertising researchers and practitioners. Consists of 11 major sections, including international advertising research, global media, advertising/media by country, professional international associations and awards, and top multinational advertisers and agencies
KnowThis.com: Promotion and Advertising
http://www.knowthis.com/promoadv.htm
As a section of the WWW Virtual Library, this site offers resources for designing advertisements and for coordinating advertising campaigns. It also provides resources for direct marketing, Internet advertising, and public relations.
Lurzer’s Archive
http://www.luerzersarchive.net/products.asp
Features over 20,000 international print ads from the magazine in a searchable database.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/mma
Presents images and database information for approx. 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. Covers the evolution of images from the 1910's through the 1950's.
Smithsonian Advertising, Marketing and Commercial Imagery Collections
http://americanhistory.si.edu/archives/d-7.htm
The Archives Center has nationally recognized collections for the study of advertising and marketing, including advertising cards, posters, labels, letterheads, booklets, trade catalogues, and other ephemera. The collection is organized into 538 subject and geographic categories (primarily manufactured products) and is strongest for the period 1840-1900. Other large collections of commercial ephemera include greeting cards, matchbooks, sports trading cards, postcards, and cigarette packaging.
SRDS Support Services
http://www.srds.com/portal/servlet/LoginServlet?action=loginFrame&linkHit=ss
Media planning/buying calculators, advertising and marketing links, tips on using SRDS print resources, industry events, media calendars. Actual SRDS print and electronic publications are fee based and aren’t accessible from the site without a subscription.
Associations & Organizations
Advertising Educational Foundation
http://www.aef.com
The Advertising Educational Foundation serves as the industry's clearinghouse, repository and distribution center for educational information and materials to improve the perception and understanding of the social, historical, cultural and economic role of advertising.
American Academy of Advertising
http://www.aaasite.org/
An organization of advertising scholars and professionals with an interest in advertising and advertising education. Fosters research that is relevant to the field and provides a forum for the exchange of ideas among its academic and professional members. Through the Journal of Advertising and the annual conference Proceedings, the Academy disseminates research findings and scholarly contributions to advertising education and the profession.
American Advertising Federation
http://www.aaf.org
A trade association representing 50,000 industry professionals and a nationally coordinated network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, ad clubs and college chapters. Most areas of the site require membership for access.
American Association of Advertising Agencies
http://www.aaaa.org
The national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States. Its membership produces approximately 75 percent of the total advertising volume placed by agencies nationwide.
Association of National Advertisers
http://www.ana.net
A leading industry organization. Provides mostly proprietary resources so membership is required to access most of the useful portions of their site.
Direct Marketing Association
http://www.the-dma.org/
The largest trade association for businesses interested in direct, database, and interactive global marketing. Active in international government relations, reflecting the rapid growth of transborder marketing. The DMA umbrella includes two independent subsidiaries that specialize in e-commerce: the Association for Interactive Marketing (AIM) and the Internet Alliance (IA).
Interactive Advertising Bureau
http://www.iab.net
Primary organization for interactive media advertising, including online, Interactive broadcasting, email, wireless and Interactive television media.
International Advertising Association
http://www.iaaglobal.org/
A global organization committed to fight unwarranted regulation on behalf of all those engaged in responsible commercial speech and to act as an advocate for freedom of choice for individuals across all consumer and business markets.
Outdoor Advertising Association of America
http://www.oaaa.org/
A trade association representing the outdoor advertising industry and dedicated to promoting, protecting and advancing outdoor advertising interests in the U.S. Strategic focus is on government relations, marketing, communications, membership, and operations.
World Advertising Research Center (WARC)
http://www.warc.com/
WARC is an independent organization that works closely with trade associations, industry bodies and companies around the world. It’s subscription-based service WARC.com gathers together over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications. Members can also access adspend statistics, demographic and economic data, consolidated global industry news, marketing communications best practice papers and expert editorials on current industry trends.
Journals & Trade Publications
Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.
There are only a few journals in the field of advertising considered scholarly, although there are many more scholarly titles in the marketing/consumer research fields. As a result, many journals relevant to advertising are indexed in business-oriented databases.
Advertising Age ISSN 0001-8899
Trade publication. Crain Communication. 1930-current
Reports on all aspects of advertising, including interactive media, marketing research, sales promotion, and brand management.
Advertising and Society Review ISSN 1534-7311
Academic/Scholarly. Advertising Educational Foundation. 2000-current
Publishes diverse points of view about advertising, both pro and con, with the goal of fostering a better understanding about the role of advertising.
Adweek ISSN 1549-9553
Trade publication. VNU Business Publications. 2003-current [formed by merger of regional editions]
One of the advertising industries primary trade publications with updates on industry events, campaigns, etc. Regional publications merged in 2003.
Brandweek ISSN 1064-4318
Trade Publication. VNU Business Publications. 1992-current
Contains news briefs, trends, new campaigns and promotions, and new product news on marketer/retailer relationships, successful media strategies, agency/client relationships, and global marketing.
Consumption, Markets & Culture ISSN 1025-3866
Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 1997-current
Focuses on consumerism and the markets as the site of social behavior and discourse.
International Journal of Advertising ISSN 0265-0487
Academic/Scholarly. NTC Publications, Ltd. 1982-current
Aimed at both academics and practitioners. It is international in scope and covers a wide range of advertising and marketing issues, including: advertising technologies, role of the media, market sectors, advertising effectiveness, agency relationships and marketing.
International Journal of Market Research ISSN 1470-7853
Academic/Scholarly. NTC Publications. 2000-current
Contains papers and shorter notes covering important technical advances, practical applications, appraisals of specific problem areas and issues of current concern, together with correspondence and reviews covering the broad field of marketing and social research.
Journal of Advertising ISSN 0091-3367
Academic/Scholarly. M. E. Sharp, Inc. 1972-current
Contributes to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to advertising practices and processes.
Journal of Advertising Research ISSN 0021-8499
Trade Publication. Cambridge University Press. 1960-current
Trade publication that consists of well-researched and footnoted articles that are also much easier to read than most academic journals.
Journal of Consumer Culture ISSN 1469-5405
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 2001-current
Publishes debates and explorative articles focusing on modern consumer culture and its globalizing tendencies. The journal will be a central research forum for scholars across the social sciences and humanities.
Journal of Consumer Psychology ISSN 1057-7408
Academic/Scholarly. Lawrence Erlbaum Assoc., Inc. 1992-current
Publishes original data and theoretical, methodological and review papers on the role of advertising in consumer psychology, the development and change of consumer attitudes, choice and decision processes.
Journal of Consumer Research ISSN 0093-5301
Academic/Scholarly. University of Chicago Press. 1973-current
Focuses on scholarly research aimed at describing and explaining consumer behavior, in the broadest sense of that term.
Journal of Current Issues and Research in Advertising ISSN 1064-1734
Trade publication. CTC Press. 1992-current
Aims at advancing state-of-the-art in advertising theory, practice, and current developments. Also features complete reports of original theoretical research.
Journal of Marketing Communications ISSN 1352-7266
Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 1995-current
Devoted to publishing research papers and information articles on all aspects of marketing communications and promotion management.
MediaWeek ISSN 1055-176X
Trade Publication. VNU Business Publications. 1991-current
Late breaking news covering the media business with analysis and commentary that puts that news into perspective.
| About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL |
| Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu |
Original content by: Patrick J. Reakes
Created: January 29, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List
Updated by: Adrian Ho