EBSS logoLibrary Resources for Communication Studies
Home | Collection Development Toolkit | Associations & Organizations | Scholarly Association Conferences | Communication Studies Listservs |
Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Introduction

This guide is intended to function as an overview of the types of materials available to librarians, students, faculty and others interested conducting research related to the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is broad in scope, to incorporate as many current resources as possible.

Suggested Subject Keywords

Communication Disorders
Communicative Disorders
Deafness
Deglutition Disorders
Hearing Disorders
Speech Disorders
Swallowing Disorders
Voice Disorders

Reference Materials

Communication Disorders Sourcebook: Basic Information about Deafness and Hearing Loss, Speech and Language Disorders, Voice Disorders, Balance and Vestibular Disorders, and Disorders of Smell, Taste, and Touch, edited by Linda M. Ross. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1996. ISBN 078080077X

Dictionary of Communication Disorders, 4th ed, by David W. H. Morris. London: Whurr Publishers, 2003. ISBN 1861562853

MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders, edited by Raymond D. Kent. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 2004. ISBN 0262112787

Terminology of Communication Disorders: Speech-Language-Hearing, 5th ed, by Lucille Nicolosi, Elizabeth Harryman, and Janet Kresheck. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2004. ISBN 0781741963

Periodical Databases/Indexes

Icon Key: = Paid access    = Free access    = Available electronically    = Available in print

Best Bets:

ComDisDOME, 1997-present Paid Access Available electronically
Updated continuously, ComDisDOME is an information service, or portal, developed by Communication Sciences and Disorders educators and professionals for educators, clinicians, researchers, and students in the fields of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. The database connects users to over 130,000 citations from over 125 journals in the field (with full-text purchase options) and searches multiple content sources, including books and dissertations, from one location. It also provides links to associated authors, institutions, and web sites.
Vendor site: http://www.comdisdome.com/index.jsp?_dm=comdis&_sk

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC), 1920-present Paid Access Available electronically
Updated regularly, CMMC provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media as well as communication sciences and disorders. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
Vendor site: http://www.epnet.com/academic/cmmc.asp

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, 1973-present Paid Access Available electronically
Updated five times a year, this database contains more than 244,000 citations with abstracts to the world's published literature on the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, speech, communication, and related topics. Includes citations to book reviews appearing in serials abstracted for the print Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/

Additional Useful Databases:

CHID (Combined Health Information Database) Online, 1985-present Free Access Available electronically
The Combined Health Information Database (CHID), updated four times a year, provides bibliographic access for health information and health education resources. Produced by health-related agencies of the Federal Government.
Site: http://chid.nih.gov/

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health), 1982-present Paid Access Available electronically
Updated monthly, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. It includes over 1,700 English-language journals (with selected full text journals) as well as healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Vendor site: Several vendors offer access to CINAHL; see http://www.ovid.com/site/catalog/DataBase/40.jsp?top=2&mid=3&bottom=7&subsection=10 as one example.

MEDLINE, 1966-present Paid Access Available electronically
Updated monthly, MEDLINE is the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical and allied health literature. It includes over 8.7 millon records and covers more than 3,600 journals. MEDLINE corresponds in part to the following print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing.
Vendor site: EBSCO, FirstSearch and Ovid offer access with different search interfaces to MEDLINE content; for example, see http://www.epnet.com/academic/medline.asp

Web Sites

American Sign Language Browser
http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/browser.htm
Michigan State University provides this ASL Browser. Click on a letter or word and a QuickTime movie shows you how to sign that letter or word. This is a great site, but your browser must support frames a QuickTime plug-in is required.

Barkley Augmentative and Alternative Communication Centers
http://aac.unl.edu/
Practitioners in this area of communication sciences and disorders attempt to "compensate either temporarily or permanently for the impairment and disability patterns of individuals with severe and expressive communication disorders." This site from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, contains unique information on AAC vendors, vocabulary lists, device tutorials, intervention resources, recent UNL Medical School presentations in PowerPoint, and an updates section that lists new AAC books and research opportunities.

Guide to Otolaryngology on the Internet
http://www.bcm.tmc.edu/oto/others.html
Baylor College of Medicine's Department of Otorhinolaryngology and Communicative Sciences maintains this helpful page of links to educations sites, audiology, discussion groups, outcomes research, appropriate online journals, pertinent research sites, and software.

Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/index.html
The University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library is responsible for this site's extensive list of medical topics and their corresponding Internet sites. From the main page, the relevant links for communication sciences and disorders students are Otolaryngology and Speech Disorders.

MedMark Medical Bookmarks
http://www.medmark.org/orl/
An exhaustive list of web resources to centers/institutes/labs, hospitals/clinics, guides and guidelines, images and atlases, programs and projects, and much more from Ildo Shin, M.D. in Korea. Though it takes a while to page through the links, the site offers potential for mining a lot of useful information.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/
The institute provides a wealth of health information for both professionals and the public. There is a lot of information on extramural research funding, a publications order form, current news, and information about the institute's intramural research program. Additionally, there are many documents available in Spanish.

Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences
http://www.mnsu.edu/comdis/kuster2/welcome.html
Judith Kuster is an ASHA-certified speech-language pathologist as well as an associate professor and speech clinic director at Minnesota State University, Mankato. She has assembled a vast amount of communication sciences and disorders information, including links to discussion forums and electronic newsletters, a communication disorders and sciences library (listing state, national and international associations), speech-language materials on the Internet, and a stuttering home page. This is an excellent place to begin online research.

Speechweb
http://www.speechweb.org/
John P. Valiquette, a Canadian speech-language pathologist, developed this site for professionals (there is a password-protected professional exchange section) as well as those seeking information and a sense of community. There is also a separate section for children and a "Find a Speech Pathologist" search function.

Associations & Organizations

American Academy of Audiology (AAA)
http://www.audiology.org/
AAA was founded in 1988 as a professional organization for audiologists interested in providing high-quality audiologic health care. The organization supports such areas as research, continuing education, professional development, and public awareness. The organization publishes two journals, Journal of the American Academy of Audiology (JAAA) and Audiology Today, which provide current research and professional information. The AAA Web site provides English-language Consumer Guides, such as How to Purchase Hearing Aids, and Understanding Your Audiogram, and a few Spanish-language Consumer Guides as well.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
http://www.asha.org/default.htm
ASHA is a national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for over 114,000 audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and speech, language, and hearing scientists. The association's stated mission is "to promote the interests of and provide the highest quality services for professionals in audiology, speech language pathology, and speech and hearing science, and to advocate for people with communication disabilities." The ASHA Web site also provides lists of internet resources on hearing as well as speech and swallowing.

National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSSLHA)
http://www.nsslha.org/nsslha/
NSSLHA (National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association) is a branch of ASHA designed to support undergraduate and graduate students going into the fields of Speech Pathology and Audiology. Many universities around the nation are home to a university chapter of NSSLHA, and membership is available to undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral students enrolled full- or part-time in a communication sciences program or related major.

Journals & Trade Publications

Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.

Acta Oto-Laryngologica ISSN 0001-6489
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, 1918-current
Publishes papers on basic research and clinical studies in the field of otolaryngology, head and neck surgery, and related sub-disciplines.

American Annals of the Deaf ISSN 0002-726X
Academic/Scholarly. Convention of American Instructors of the Deaf, 1886-current Presents articles of interest to teachers, administrators, and researchers in the field of deaf education.

American Journal of Audiology: A Journal of Clinical Practice (AJA) ISSN 1059-0889
Academic/Scholarly. ASHA, 1991-current
Covers all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment, and treatment techniques.

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology: A Journal of Clinical Practice (AJSLP) ISSN 1058-0360
Academic/Scholarly. ASHA, 1991-current
Articles concern screening, assessment, and treatment techniques; prevention/ professional issues; supervision; and administration; and may appear in the form of clinical forums, clinical reviews, letters to the editor, or research reports that emphasize clinical practice.

Archives of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery ISSN 0886-4470
Academic/Scholarly. American Medical Association, 1925-current
Provides information on diseases of the head and neck. Journal publishes clinical and basic research.

Audio & Neuro-Otology ISSN 1420-3030
Academic/Scholarly. Karger, 1996-current
Provides information on the auditory and vestibular systems.

ACC Augmentative and Alternative Communication ISSN 0743-4618
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, 1985-current
Official journal of the International Society for Augmentative and Alternative Communication (ISAAC). Publishes articles on severe speech/communication impairments, which may be of interest to those using augmentative and alternative communication techniques.

Autism ISSN 1362-3613
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications Ltd, 1997-current
Provides research information on improving the quality of life for individuals with autism or autism-related disorders.

Brain and Language ISSN 0093-934X
Academic/Scholarly. Academic Press, 1974-current
Interdisciplinary journal of clinical, experimental, and theoretical research in linguistics, neuroanatomy, neurology, neurophysiology, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, and speech pathology.

British Journal of Audiology ISSN 0300-5364
Academic/Scholarly. Whurr Publishing Ltd, 1967-current
Publishes papers which present scientific information relevant to audiology in the following areas: pediatric, adult and geriatric audiology; hearing aids and their prescription; tests of hearing; development of diagnostic, physiological and psychoacoustic techniques; sociological aspects of deafness; balance and balance disorders.

The Cleft Palate – Craniofacial Journal Official publication of the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association ISSN 1055-6656
Academic/Scholarly. American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association, 1964-current
International, interdisciplinary journal covering clinical and research information on activities in cleft lip/palate and other craniofacial anomalies.

Clinical Linguistics & Phonetics ISSN 0269-9206
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, 1987-current
The official journal of the International Clinical Phonetics & Linguistics Association, this journal publishes articles on the interaction between the study of speech and language and disorders of speech and language. Also covers scientific research in the following areas of clinical linguistics: clinical dialectology/sociolinguistics, childhood dysphasia, and disordered communication in bilingual and multicultural settings.

Communication Disorders Quarterly ISSN 1525-7401
Academic/Scholarly. Pro-Ed Inc, 1977-current
Discusses many aspects of communication disorders: speech, hearing, language, and learning disabilities.

Contemporary Issues in Communication Science and Disorders (CICSD) ISSN 1092-5171
Academic/Scholarly. National Student Speech Language Hearing Association, 1973-current
CICSD focuses on recent advances in communication science.

Dysphagia ISSN 0179-051X
Academic/Scholarly. Springer-Verlag, 1986-current
Interdisciplinary journal provides information on swallowing and its disorders. Its scope includes all aspects of normal and dysphagic ingestion involving the mouth pharynx and esophagus.

Ear and Hearing ISSN 0196-0202
Academic/Scholarly. Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 1975-current
Official Journal of the American Auditory Society, covering all aspects of auditory disorders.

Folia Phoniatrica et Logopaedica ISSN 1021-7762
Academic/Scholarly. Karger, 1947-current
An official publication of the International Association of Logopedics and Phoniatrics. Provides a survey of international research in physiology and pathology of speech and voice organs.

Hearing Research ISSN 0378-5955
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1978-current
Publishes papers on auditory neurophysiology, ultrastructure, psychoacoustics and behavioral studies of hearing in animals, and models of auditory functions as well as papers on comparative aspects of hearing in animals and man.

International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders/Royal College of Speech & Language Therapists ISSN 1368-2822
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, 1966-current
Presents clinical and theoretical research, covering all the aspects of communication disorders.

International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology ISSN 0165-5876
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1979-current
Presents information on prevention, cure and care of otorhinolaryngological disorders in infants and children due to developmental, degenerative, infections, neoplastic, traumatic, social, psychiatric and economic causes. It covers all the areas of pediatric otorhinolaryngology, including: medical and surgical otology, bronchoesophagology, laryngology, rhinology, diseases of the head and neck, and disorders of communication.

Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology ISSN 0149-8886
Academic/Scholarly. Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology, 1969-current
Forum for the exchange of ideas on, knowledge or, and experience with habilitative and rehabilitative aspects of audiology.

Journal of the Acoustical Society of America ISSN 0001-4966
Academic/Scholarly. Acoustical Society of America, 1929-current
Journal coverage includes: linear and nonlinear acoustics; aeroacoustics, underwater sound and acoustical oceanography; ultrasonics and quantum acoustics; architectural and structural acoustics and vibration; speech, music and noise; psychology and physiology of hearing.

Journal of the American Academy of Audiology ISSN 1050-0545
Academic/Scholarly. BC Decker Inc, 1990-current
Papers published in this journal cover hearing science, assessment, amplification, rehabilitation and electrophysiology.

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders ISSN 0162-3257
Academic/Scholarly. Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 1971-current
Covers all the severe psychopathologies in childhood, including autism and childhood schizophrenia. Articles discuss experimental studies on the biochemical, neurological, and genetic aspects of a given disorder.

Journal of Communication Disorders ISSN 0021-9924
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1967-current
Publishes original articles on topics related to disorders of speech, language, and hearing. Includes Clinics in Communication Disorders issues that provide clinicians with information on the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of communication disorders.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education ISSN 1081-4159
Academic/Scholarly. Oxford University Press, 1996-current
Integrates and coordinates basic and applied research relating to individuals who are def, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.

Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities ISSN 1056-263X
Academic/Scholarly. Kluwer Academic, 1988-current
Research and clinical reports discussing such concerns as: the deaf-blind, cerebral-palsied deaf, blind-mentally retarded, and individuals who are emotionally disturbed and mentally retarded.

Journal of Fluency Disorders ISSN 0094-730X
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1974-current
This official journal of the International Fluency Association provides comprehensive coverage of clinical, experimental, and theoretical aspects of stuttering, including the latest remediation techniques.

Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology ISSN 1065-1438
Academic/Scholarly. Singular Publishing Group, 1993-current
The official journal of the Academy of Neurologic Communication Disorders and Sciences publishes theoretical and clinical articles, clinical notes, tutorials, letters, and dialogue covering all aspects of human communication and its disorders that are encountered in a medical environment.

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSLHR) ISSN 1092-4388
Academic/Scholarly. ASHA, 1958-current
Publishes articles pertaining to the processes and disorders of hearing, language, and speech, as well as to the diagnosis and treatment of these disorders.

Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology ISSN 0848-1970
Academic/Scholarly. Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 1973-current
Aims to disseminate knowledge pertaining to human communication and its related disorders.

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools (LSHSS) ISSN 0161-1461
Academic/Scholarly. ASHA, 1970-current
Presents information on all aspects of clinical speech, language, and hearing services to children and adolescents.

The Laryngoscope ISSN 0023-852X
Academic/Scholarly. Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 1896-current
An international journal, owned by The American Laryngological, Rhinological and Otological Society publishes original articles relating to both the clinical and basic science aspects of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. This journal reflects medical, clinical, and research information in: otolaryngology, broncho-esophagology, communicative disorders, head and neck surgery, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, oncology, and speech and hearing defects.

Logopedics, Phoniatrics, Vocology ISSN 1401-5439
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, 1936-current
This journal is a merger of the former journals Scandinavian Journal of Logopedics & Phoniatrics and VOICE (London), and it includes articles related to speech, language and voice pathology, as well as to normal voice function in its different aspects.

Neuropsychologia ISSN 0028-3932
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1963-current
An international interdisciplinary journal of the neurological, behavioral and cognitive sciences, presenting papers on analysis of disorders of perception, action, intelligence, memory, imagery, thought and language resulting from injury or disease of the central nervous system.

Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery ISSN 0194-5998
Academic/Scholarly. Mosby Inc, 1896-current
Publishes articles and case reports on recent developments in medical and surgical treatment of the ear, nose, throat, and related structures of the head and neck. The journal also provides information on new instruments and medical devices.

Phonetica ISSN 0031-8388
Academic/Scholarly. Karger, 1957-current
Covers all aspects of descriptive linguistics, phonetics and phonology.

Seminars in Speech and Language ISSN 0734-0478
Academic/Scholarly. Thieme Medical Publishers, 1980-current
Reports on clinical advances in speech and language pathology, offering diagnostic procedures, screening and assessment techniques, treatment protocols, and short-and long-term management practices.

Speech Communication ISSN 0167-6393
Academic/Scholarly. Elsevier Science, 1982-current
Subject areas covered in this journal include basics of oral communication and dialogue, and models and tools for language learning.

Topics in Language Disorders ISSN 0271-8294
Academic/Scholarly. Aspen Publishers, 1981-current
The purpose of this journal is to clarify the application of theory to practice in the treatment, rehabilitation, and education of individuals with language disorders.

Special Collections

Deaf-related Resources: Gallaudet University Library
http://library.gallaudet.edu/dr/
Electronic pathfinder prepared by Gallaudet University Library staff, including links to research guides, frequently asked questions about deaf research, their archives, helpful Web sites, etc.

Statistical Data

Augmentative and Alternative Communication (ACC) Demographic Information
http://aac.unl.edu/AACdemog.html
A selective collection of demographic information about the ACC field compiled by David Beukelman and made available through the Barkley Memorial Augmentative and Alternative Communication Centers site.

About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL
Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu

Content by: Jenifer Flaxbart
Created: February 14, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List