Library Resources for Communication Studies |
|
Home
|
Collection Development Toolkit
|
Associations & Organizations
|
Scholarly Association Conferences |
Communication Studies Listservs
| Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts |
Intercultural Communication
Introduction | Subject Keywords | Reference Materials | Periodical Databases/Indexes | Web Sites | Associations/Organizations | Journals/Trade Publications
Introduction
This guide intends to support the study of communication among cultures and also the understanding of one’s own and other cultures as a means of improving communication.
Subject Keywords
Communication AND Culture
Communication AND International (or Communication AND [Country name])
[Concept] AND Cross-cultural studies
United States and Cross-cultural studies
Cross-cultural communication (or Crosscultural communication)
Crosscultural differences and Communicat*
Cultural diffusion
Cultural sensitivity AND Communicat*
Culture contact AND Communicat*
Intercultural communication (also Intercultural communication AND Motion pictures)
[Racial/ethnic group] AND Communication, e.g. African Americans AND Communication
[Concept] AND Cross-cultural studies, e.g. Communication AND family AND United States
Reference Materials
Aggression and conflict: a cross-cultural encyclopedia, by David Levinson. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1994. ISBN 087436728X
Countries and their cultures, edited by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. ISBN 0028649508
A comprehensive source, organized by country, that provides 7-12 page overviews of the country’s social, political, and commercial structure. Of interest for Intercultural Communication: sections on National Identity, Symbolism, Socialization, and Etiquette.
CultureGrams, Orem, UT: Axiom Press, 2002-
Four-page articles include information on General Attitudes, Customs and Courtesies and Lifestyles.
Encyclopedia of food and culture, edited by Solomon H. Katz. New York: Scribner, 2003. ISBN 0684805685 (set); 0684805650 (v. 1); 0684805669 (v. 2); 0684805677 (v. 3) Also available electronically via NetLibrary and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Covers topics such as individual staple foods; the preparation, distribution, and storage of various foods; the role of food in different holidays and festivals; nutrition and food science; food symbolism and its use in various arts; national cuisines, etc.
Encyclopedia of urban cultures: cities and cultures around the world, edited by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember. Danbury, Conn.: Grolier, 2002. ISBN 0717256987 (lib. bdg.).
Components of the 7-8 page profiles include Attractions of the City, Relationships between the City and the Outside, Infrastructure, and Cultural and Social Life.
Encyclopedia of world cultures, edited by David Levinson and Timothy O'Leary. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. ISBN 08168840X (set: alk. paper). Also available electronically via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
This multi-volume set, organized by world regions, has information on groups within a country. For example, the entry on Italians is brief and refers to longer articles on the Piemontese and the Sicilians. Linguistic Affiliation and Marriage and Family are useful sections, but cultural information is found throughout an article.
Encyclopedia of world cultures supplement, edited by Melvin Ember, Carol Ember, and Ian Skoggard. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. ISBN 0028656717. Also available electronically via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Supplement to the title above.
Handbook of intercultural training, 3 ed, edited by Dan Landis, Janet Bennett, Milton Bennett. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2004. ISBN 0761923322 (pbk.)
Handbook covers all aspects of intercultural training: history, methods, evaluation, etd.
Intercultural communication: a contextual approach, 3 ed., by James W. Neuliep. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2006. ISBN 1412917417 (pbk.)
This title presents an introduction to the processes critical to successful and competent intercultural communication. Emphases are on a contextual model of intercultural communication, examining communication within cultural, micro-cultural, environmental, socio-relational, and perceptual contexts, and related learning tools.
An introduction to intercultural communication: identities in a global community, 5th ed, by Fred Edmund Jandt. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2007. ISBN 1412914426 (pbk.); 9781412914420 (pbk.)
Background information on all areas of the intercultural communication field. Includes glossary and annotated references.
Kiss, bow, or shake hands: how to do business in sixty countries, by Terri Morrison, Wayne A. Conaway, and George A. Borden. Holbrook, Mass.: B. Adams, 1994. ISBN 1558504443
Although primarily for the business student, this book’s 6-7 page country profiles include “Cultural Orientation” information such as “Cognitive Styles” and “Value Systems,” making it useful for a range of research needs.
Language and communication: a cross-cultural encyclopedia, by Michael Shaw Findlay. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998. ISBN 0874369460 (alk. paper); 9780874369465 (alk. paper)
Periodical Databases/Indexes
Icon Key:
= Paid access
= Free access
= Available electronically
= Available in print
Best Bets:
Communication Abstracts, 1978 – present
From Sage Publishing; covers everything from print journalism, media broadcasting and advertising to speech and interpersonal communications.
Publisher site: http://www.sagepub.com/journal.aspx?pid=168
Communication Abstracts Online
A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database, Communication Abstracts Online covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/; http://www.csa.com/factsheets/commabs-set-c.php
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC), 1920-present
Indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media.
Vendor site: http://www.epnet.com/thisTopic.php?topicID=56&marketID=1
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, 1973-present
Updated five times a year, this database contains more than 244,000 citations with abstracts to the world's published literature on the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, speech, communication, and related topics. Includes citations to book reviews appearing in serials abstracted for the print Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/; http://www.csa.com/factsheets/llba-set-c.php
Additional Useful Databases:
PsycINFO, 1887-present
PsycNFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages. Of special interest for users of this pathfinder is extensive coverage of cross-cultural and intercultural psychology in academic, medical and business environments.
Vendor site: http://www.apa.org/psycinfo/products/psycinfo.html
Sociological Abstracts, 1963-present
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Topics covered include culture and social structure, demography and human biology, and social psychology and group interaction.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/; http://www.csa.com/factsheets/socioabs-set-c.php
Web Sites
Executive Planet
http://www.executiveplanet.com/
Advice on making appointments, addressing others, and negotiating, among other concepts, for 40 countries.
Intercultural Communication Institute
http://www.intercultural.org/
The Intercultural Communication Institute (ICI) is a private, nonprofit foundation designed to foster an awareness and appreciation of cultural difference in both the international and domestic arenas.
Intermundo – Journal for Intercultural Communication
http://www.stephweb.com/forum/
Free membership gives you feature articles, with recent topics including international cooperation, cultural values in films, cultural shock, and world Christmas traditions and book reviews. Future improvements will include streaming video of “reports, interviews, discussions and lectures.”
Associations & Organizations
Society for Intercultural Education, Training and Research (SIETAR)
http://www.sietarusa.org/
This organization has chapters around the world, many of which make some conference documents available online.
Young SIETAR might be of interest for students and young professionals:
http://www.youngsietar.org/
Journals & Trade Publications
Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.
Howard Journal of Communications ISSN 1064-6175
Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis, Inc. 1988-current
While many Communication Studies journals publish articles on Intercultural Communication, the Howard Journal of Communication, according to Ulrich’s, "examines ethnicity, gender, and culture as domestic and international communications concerns. Addressing topical issues on television and culture, gender and communication, and African American film, HJC offers a multiethnic interdisciplinary research vehicle. The HJC emphasizes the link between communication and culture." Quarterly.
Human Relations ISSN 0018-7267
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 1947-current
Considered the most valuable resource of research in intercultural communication in interpersonal, small group, and organizational relationships. Monthly.
Intercultural Communication ISSN 1404-1634
Academic/Scholarly. University of Goteborg, Department of Linguistics. 1999-current
http://www.immi.se/intercultural/
An online journal, whose stated goal is to "promote research but also education and training in the area of intercultural communication." Quarterly.
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology ISSN 0022-0221
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 1970-current
Examines research on responses of individuals and groups from different cultures or environments to similar stimuli or situations. Bi-monthly.
Journal of Intercultural Studies ISSN 0725-6868
Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 1977-current
According to Ulrich’s, "the Journal of Intercultural Studies is an interdisciplinary, international journal that provides a forum for research related to intercultural studies. Two issues are published each year, with one issue thematic, examining a common topic from a variety of disciplinary perspectives as reflected by writers from different countries, and the other presenting a wide range of timely topics for reflection and discussion." 3 times a year.
| About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL |
| Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu |
Original content by: Heidi Senior
Created: February 9, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List
Updated by: Jenifer Flaxbart