EBSS logoLibrary Resources for Communication Studies
Home | Collection Development Toolkit | Associations & Organizations | Scholarly Association Conferences | Communication Studies Listservs |
Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts

Journalism

Introduction

This guide is intended to identify selected primary resources available for research in the area of print journalism. Out of necessity some of the resources also include materials covering the broader topic of mass communication/mass communication research or the related areas of broadcast journalism, online journalism, journalism history and photojournalism, the emphasis is on core print journalism sources. For additional information on photojournalism, new media, news sources, media ethics, and other topics related to journalism see the additional subject guides.

For an extensive listing of resources for journalism research see Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature (2004) by Jo A. Cates, Libraries Unlimited, Inc. ISBN 1-59158-06707. This is the most comprehensive list of reference materials in the subject area.

Suggested Subject Keywords

Due to the breadth of the topic there are far too many possible keywords and subject headings to include a comprehensive list. For a full listing of possible subject headings consult the multivolume Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) (Washington: Library of Congress, annual; Z695.Z8 L524a) available in most libraries. Some very basic starting points:

Journalism
Mass media
Mass communication (s)
News media
Newspapers
Press

Reference Materials

Associated Press Guide to News Writing, 3rd ed. Forest City, CA: IDG Books Worldwide, ISBN 0028637550

Associated Press Reporting Handbook, New York: McGraw-Hill, ISBN 0071372172

Associated Press Style Book and Briefing on Media Law with Internet Guide and Glossary Cambridge, Mass.: Perseus, ISBN 0738207403

Bacon’s Magazine Directory, Chicago, Ill.: Bacon's Information Inc., ISSN 1088-9663

Bacon’s Newspaper Directory, Chicago, Ill.: Bacon's Information Inc., ISSN 1088-9639

Bowkers News Media Directory (formerly Working Press of the Nation), New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, ISSN 0000-1783

College Media Directory, New York: Oxbridge Communications, Inc., ISSN 1046-4255

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies, 6th ed. New York: distributed by Oxford University Press, ISBN 0340808292

Editor and Publisher International Yearbook, New York: Editor & Publisher Co., ISSN 0424-4923
The "Encyclopedia of the Newspaper Industry". One of the most important sources of newspaper industry facts, numbers and names.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism, New York: Facts on File, ISBN 0871964279

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications , San Diego, Calif.; London : Academic, ISBN 0123876702

Freedom of the Press: A Global Survey of Media Independence, Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, ISBN 0742540286

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media , Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, ISSN 1048-7972 (Note: Available electronically via Gale Ready Reference Shelf)

Global Media Atlas, London : British Film Institute, ISBN 0851708609
Graphically shows the global diffusion of old and new media. Presents the most up-to-date data and extrapolates trends.

International Encyclopedia of Communications, New York ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, ISBN 0195049942

Iowa Guide: Scholarly Journals in Mass Communication and Related Fields, Iowa City, Iowa : School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Iowa (Note: No longer updated in print. Available online at http://fm.iowa.uiowa.edu/fmi/xsl/iowaguide/search.xsl?-db=iowaguide&-lay=plain&-view)

Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature, Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, ISBN 1563083744

Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts, Columbia, SC: Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, ISSN 1077-694X
Indexes/abstracts of dissertations and theses from 50 universities.

Longman Dictionary of Mass Media and Communication, New York: Longman, ISBN 058228337X

The Mass Media: Aspen Institute Guide to Communication Industry Trends, New York: Praeger. ISBN 0275240207
"Statistical abstract of the communications industries". Dated, but a classic.

NTC’s Mass Media Dictionary, Lincolnwood, Ill., USA: National Textbook Co., ISBN 0844231851

The Practical Media Dictionary, London : Arnold, ISBN 0340809035

Reporters Handbook, 3rd ed. New York : St. Martin's Press, ISBN 0312135963
One of the primary resources for investigative reporting techniques.

UPI Stylebook and Guide to Newswriting, 4th ed. Herndon, VA: Capital Books, ISBN 1931868581

Who’s Who in the Media and Communications, New Providence, NJ: Marquis Who's Who, ISSN: 1094-6985

Willings Press Guide, London: Willing Service, ISSN 0000-0213
Worldwide directory to newspaper and periodical press.

World Media Handbook, New York : United Nations Dept. of Public Information, ISSN: 1014-871X
General information and numbers on international mass media systems.

World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide, 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, ISBN 0787655821

Periodical Databases/Indexes

Icon Key: = Paid access    = Free access    = Available electronically    = Available in print

Best Bets:

Alternative Press Index Paid Access Available electronically
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Coverage from 1991-present (Note: Separate archive database covers 1969-1990)
Vendor site: http://www.oclc.org/support/documentation/firstsearch/databases/dbdetails/details/ AltPressIndex.htm

ComAbstracts Paid Access Available electronically
ComAbstracts is a database of article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.). Expanded and updated throughout the year, with some coverage back to early 1970’s.
Vendor site: http://www.cios.org/www/abstract.htm

Communication Abstracts Paid Access Available electronically
Provides indexing and abstracting of journal articles, books and reports from the literature of communication arts and science. Topics include (among many others) gender and communication, journalism, broadcasting, public opinion, and communication theory. Coverage is 1978 to the present. Updated bimonthly.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com

Communication and Mass Media Complete Paid Access Available electronically
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Provides indexing and select full text covering various aspects of communication and mass media. Some coverage from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century.
Vendor site: http://www.ebsco.com/home

Communication Studies Full-Text Collection Paid Access Available electronically
Includes the full-text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,200 articles. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Vendor site: http://www.sagepub.co.uk/CollectionsHome.aspx

Ethnic News Watch Paid Access Available electronically
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search.
Vendor site: http://www.proquestcompany.com/

LeftIndex Paid Access Available electronically
Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. 1982 to date.
Vendor site: http://www.nisc.com

Social Science Citation Index Paid Access Available electronically
Contains the references cited by the authors of journal articles in the social sciences. In addition to reference searching, also allows searching by author, topic, source title and address. Coverage from 1956 to date.
Vendor site: http://www.isinet.com

Additional Useful Databases:

ABI/Inform Global Paid Access Available electronically
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Vendor site: http://www.proquestcompany.com/

Accunet/AP Photo Archive Paid Access Available electronically
The most extensive online collection of copyright-released multimedia material available. Contains The Associated Press' current year's photo library and a wide selection of images from their vast negative and print library, dating from the 1840s. Currently includes over 750,000 photos hundreds of new photos are added daily.
Vendor site: http://ap.accuweather.com/

Current Contents Paid Access Available electronically
A multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. Users can also search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents.
Vendor site: http://www.isinet.com

CQ Researcher Paid Access Available electronically
A section of the larger CQ Electronic Library. Offers in depth reports focused on a single topic. Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subject reported by CQ's staff of reporters. Covers a wide range of social, economic, political and environmental issues. Coverage goes back to 1991 and provides immediate access to the newest editions as they are published.
Site: http://library.cqpress.com/index.php

EBSCO Academic Search Premier Paid Access Available electronically
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Vendor site: http://www.ebsco.com/home

EBSCO Business Source Premier Paid Access Available electronically
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Updated daily.
Vendor site: http://www.ebsco.com/home

ERIC Paid Access Available electronically
The world's largest source of education information, contains more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Available through several different vendors with linking to EDRS for full text access. Updated weekly. 1966 to date. Indexing/abstracting also freely available via the Educators Reference Desk (http://www.eric.ed.gov/).
Vendor site: multiple vendors

Factiva Paid Access Available electronically
Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides global content. Includes the Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and numerous newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Washington Post. Also a global business information database with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 8, 000 sources.
Vendor site: http://www.factiva.com/

Firstsearch Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Paid Access Available electronically
An electronic-journals service that offers Web access to a growing collection of more than 5,000 titles in a wide range of subject areas, from over 70 publishers of academic and professional journals.
Vendor site: http://www.oclc.org/firstsearch/

Gale Infotrac Onefile Paid Access Available electronically
Includes full-text articles from over 4,900 journals. Indexes total of over 8,500 titles; 2,500+ are refereed. Covers virtually all academic disciplines. From 1980 forward; updated daily.
Vendor site: http://www.galegroup.com

JSTOR Paid Access Available electronically
Full text of 100+ core research journals in many subject areas. Coverage starts at the beginning year of publication and includes all but the most recent years (as required by the publisher). Each year an additional year of currently published titles is made available. More subject areas and additional titles are being added regularly.
Vendor site: http://www.jstor.org/

Lexis/Nexis Academic Paid Access Available electronically
Provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources, including company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.
Vendor site: http://www.lexis-nexis.com/default.asp

Proquest Newspapers Paid Access Available electronically
Coverage of 5 major U.S.; newspapers, including The New York Times (1999 to date), Wall Street Journal (1984 to date), Washington Post (1987 to date), Los Angeles Times (1985 to date) and the Christian Science Monitor (1988 to date).
Vendor site: http://www.proquestcompany.com

Proquest Historical Newspapers Paid Access Available electronically
Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. This ongoing project has already completed The New York Times The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor. The Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune are currently going through the digitization process.
Note: ProQuest offers numerous other newspaper database alternatives. See vendor site for details.
Vendor site: http://www.proquestcompany.com

PsycINFO Paid Access Available electronically
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology. Includes psychological research and its applications. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters.
Vendor site: multiple vendors

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Paid Access Available electronically
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Vendor site: http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/

Wilson Omnfile Paid Access Available electronically
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
Vendor site: http://www.hwwilson.com/

Web Sites

Accuracy in Media
http://www.aim.org/
Media monitor, downloads, resource links, columns and reports from a citizen based news media watchdog group.

Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
http://www.aejmc.org
Searchable database of abstracts, selected full text of articles and reports, online directories, website listings, Journalism Quarterly index. See additional information about AEJMC in the Associations/Organizations section.

Audit Bureau of Circulation
http://www.accessabc.com/
Much of the site is restricted to members, but very useful for finding circulation figures for newspapers, magazines, and business publications. See additional information about ABC in the Associations/Organizations section.

Behind The News
http://infomaniac.home.infionline.net/
An extensive list of news research links compiled by Liz Donovan of the Miami Herald. Includes weblogs, hot topics, essential reference links and more.

Center for Media and Public Affairs
http://www.cmpa.com/
Studies and analysis of the news and entertainment industries.

Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
http://www.cios.org
Much of the site requires membership, but there are also valuable free resources available, specifically the Visual Communications Concept Explorer. See additional information about CIOS in the Associations/Organizations section.

CyberJournalist.net
http://www.cyberjournalist.net/
From the Media Center at API. Lots of resources and a great feature called Cyberjournalist Supersearch for searching the Web.

Facsnet
http://www.facsnet.org/
Sponsored by the Foundation for American Communication. Reporting tools, current headlines, issue coverage, sources and more.

Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
http://www.fair.org/
Resources covering media bias and censorship from a national media watch group.

Gannett Newsroom Web Resources
http://www.gannett.com/web/web.htm
Valuable sources of online information from Gannett’s weekly NEWS WATCH newsletter compiled into an easy-to-use database. Topic areas in alpha order from Agriculture to Welfare Issues.

JournalismNet
http://www.journalismnet.com
Excellent overview of journalism resources on the Web. Information and links to international, multilingual archives, databases, reference material, on line information and media outlets.

Journalism.Org
http://www.journalism.org
From the Project for Excellence in Journalism and the Committee of Concerned Journalists. Links to research about journalism, books and articles, professional guidelines, journalism tools, etc.

The Journalists Toolbox
http://www.journaliststoolbox.com
From the American Press Institute. Reporting tools, backgrounders, specialized web search tools. Good pull-down menu to link to topic specific resources.

Media Education Foundation: Challenging Media
http://www.mediaed.org/
Study guides, links and resources, handouts and downloads, news and articles. Also includes information about MEF videos.

Media Matters
http://mediamatters.org/
A Web-based, not-for-profit research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media.

Media Research Center
http://www.mediaresearch.org/
Resources about media bias from the perspective of this conservative media watchdog group.

MediaChannel
http://www.mediachannel.org/
Criticism, commentaries, news and reports about international media issues.

National Press Club
http://npc.press.org
Many areas restricted to members and a lot of the site is dedicated to information for and about the club, but includes library and research links, news sources, etc.

Newseum
http://www.newseum.org/
Includes “Cybernewseum” with online exhibits and “Today’s Front Pages” with almost 300 front pages from 39 countries.

Newswatch
http://www.newswatch.org
Looks critically at the media. Extensive coverage of “news about the news” and links to other media watchdog groups and organizations.

Pew Research Center for People and the Press
http://people-press.org/
Surveys and polls on various media topics, commentary, datasets and topics in the news.

Power Reporting
http://powerreporting.com
A partner of Columbia Journalism Review. Great investigative and computer assisted reporting site. Coverage of resources by beat.

Poynter Institute
http://www.poynter.org
One of the best journalism sites on the web. Resource center, daily columns, tip sheets, ethics and leadership resources, bibliographies, and more.

Regret the Error
http://regrettheerror.com
Reports on corrections, retractions, clarifications, trends regarding accuracy & honesty in North American media.

Reporter.Org
http://reporter.org
Sponsored by Investigative Reporters and Editors so it’s one of the premier investigative reporting sites. Beat source guide for finding topical resources, links to other organizations and publications.

Virtual Gumshoe
http://www.virtualgumshoe.com
Investigative resources, links and professional services.

Women In Journalism Oral History Project
http://wpcf.org/oralhistory/ohhome.html
From the National Press Club. Many transcripts available online. Provides information about how and where to access those tapes not provided electronically.

Associations & Organizations

American Association of Sunday and Feature Editors
http://www.aasfe.org/
An organization of editors from the United States and Canada dedicated to the quality of features in newspapers and the craft of feature writing. AASFE supports its membership with an annual convention, a writing contest, an annual magazine and a Web site.

American Press Institute
http://www.americanpressinstitute.org
The oldest and largest center devoted solely to training and professional development for the news industry and journalism educators.

American Copy Editors Society
http://www.copydesk.org
A professional organization of copy editors dedicated to improving the quality of journalism and the working lives of journalists. Main purpose is to educate members and others in the news business in ways of improving the standards of copy editing and increasing the value the news industry places on the craft.

American Society of Newspaper Editors
http://www.asne.org
A membership organization for daily newspaper editors, people who serve the editorial needs of daily newspapers and certain distinguished individuals who have worked on behalf of editors through the years. Committed to fostering the public discourse essential to democracy; helping editors maintain the highest standards of quality, improve their craft and better serve their communities; and preserving and promoting core journalistic values, while embracing and exploring change.

Asian American Journalists Association
http://www.aaja.org
Mission is to encourage Asian Pacific Americans to enter the ranks of journalism, work for fair and accurate coverage of Asian Pacific Americans, and to increase the number of Asian Pacific American journalists and news managers in the industry.

Associated Press Managing Editors
http://www.apme.com Works in partnership with AP to improve the wire service's performance and provides feedback to the AP on behalf of member papers. Assists in setting ethical and journalistic standards for newspapers and in the battle for freedom of information and the First Amendment.

Associated Press Sports Editors
http://apse.dallasnews.com
Exists to improve professional standards of newspaper sports departments, to discuss and attempt to resolve problems of newspaper sports departments, to improve communication between sports departments and other newspaper departments and newspaper management and to recognize professional excellence among the membership.

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
http://www.aejmc.org
Exists to promote the highest possible standards for education in journalism and mass communication, to encourage the widest possible range of communication research, to encourage the implementation of a multi-cultural society in the classroom and curriculum, and to defend and maintain freedom of expression in day-to-day living.

Association of Alternative Weeklies
http://www.aan.org
The trade organization for the alternative newspaper business. A diverse group of 122 non-daily free-circulation papers that are distributed in all of the major metropolitan areas of North America. Each paper has a distinct, local identity that sets it apart from the mainstream press in its market.

Association of Food Journalists
http://www.afjonline.com
A networking system especially created for journalists who devote most of their working time to planning and writing food copy for news media worldwide. Primary goal is to encourage communication among food journalists. The group also strives to foster professional standards among its members and other members of the media.

Association of Health Care Journalists
http://www.ahcj.umn.edu/
An independent, non-profit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing.

Association of Opinion Page Editors
http://www.psu.edu/dept/comm/aope/
No dues, no central office. Four officers and a website and a listserv hosted by the College of Communications at the Pennsylvania State University. Exists primarily as an annual conference.

Audit Bureau of Circulation
http://www.accessabc.com
A not-for-profit organization established in 1914, ABC is the leading third-party auditing organization in the U.S. The Board of Directors is comprised of 36 members, including representatives from the publishing and advertising communities.

The Canadian Association of Journalists
http://www.eagle.ca/caj
Exists to promote excellence in journalism. The national voice of Canadian journalists and focus is to uphold the public's right to know. Encourages and promotes investigative journalism.

Center for Investigative Reporting
http://muckraker.org/
An independent news organization that strengthens democracy by exposing injustice and abuse of power.

Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
http://www.cios.org
A not-for-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education.

Committee to Protect Journalists
http://www.cpj.org/
An independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981 to promote press freedom worldwide by defending the right of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal.

Criminal Justice Journalists
http://www.reporters.net/cjj/
The first national organization for journalists who cover crime, court and prison beats. Has members from magazines, newspapers, television and online websites, as well as book authors and freelancers.

Education Writers Association
http://www.ewa.org/
The national professional organization for education reporters, EWA was organized in 1947 by a group of newspaper reporters with the intent of improving education reporting to the public.

Freedom Forum
http://www.freedomforum.org/
A nonpartisan foundation dedicated to free press, free speech and free spirit for all people. The foundation focuses on three main priorities: the Newseum, First Amendment freedoms and newsroom diversity.

Foundation for American Communication
http://www.facsnet.org/#
The mission of FACS is to improve the quality of information reaching the public through the news, based on the belief that better journalism can be achieved through education.

Fund for Investigative Journalism
http://fij.org/
The Fund for Investigative Journalism was founded in 1969 by the late Philip M. Stern, a public-spirited philanthropist who devoted his life "to balancing the scales of justice." Over three decades, the Fund has awarded more than $1.5 million in grants to freelance reporters, authors and small publications, enabling the publication of more than 700 stories and broadcasts and some 50 books.

International Center for Journalists
http://www.icfj.org/
Founded in 1984 as an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of journalism worldwide, especially in countries with little or no tradition of an independent press.

The International Federation of Journalists
http://www.ifj.org/
Promotes international action to defend press freedom and social justice through strong, free and independent trade unions of journalists.

International Newspaper Marketing Association
http://www.inma.org/
Dedicated to strengthening the marketing of newspaper companies' products, and approaching all activities with a global perspective.

International Press Institute
http://www.freemedia.at/cms/ipi/
A global organisation dedicated to the promotion and protection of press freedom and the improvement of the practices of journalism.

Investigative Reporters and Editors
http://www.ire.org
A grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting, IRE was formed in 1975 to create a forum in which journalists throughout the world could help each other by sharing story ideas, newsgathering techniques and news sources.

Journalism Education Association
http://www.jea.org
The only independent national scholastic journalism organization for teachers and advisers. JEA supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity.

National Association of Hispanic Journalists
http://www.nahj.org
Dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Established in April 1984, NAHJ created a national voice and unified vision for all Hispanic journalists.

National Association of Science Writers
http://www.nasw.org/
Chartered to foster the dissemination of accurate information regarding science through all media normally devoted to informing the public.

National Conference of Editorial Writers
http://www.ncew.org
A nonprofit professional organization that exists to improve the quality of editorial pages and broadcast editorials, and to promote high standards among opinion writers and editors.

National Federation of Press Women
http://www.nfpw.org
An organization of professional journalists and communicators. For over 60 years has promoted the highest ethical standards while looking toward the future in professional development, networking, and protecting our First Amendment rights.

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association
http://www.nlgja.org
An organization of journalists, online media professionals, and students that works from within the journalism industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.

National Newspaper Association
http://www.nna.org
A not-for-profit trade association representing the owners, publishers and editors of America's community newspapers. NNA's mission is to protect, promote and enhance America's community newspapers, and it’s 3,200 members make it the largest newspaper association in the United States.

National Newspaper Publishers Association
http://www.nnpa.org
Also known as the Black Press of America, the NNPA is a 62-year-old federation of more than 200 Black community newspapers from across the United States.

National Press Club
http://www.press.org
To provide people who gather and disseminate news a center for the advancement of their professional standards and skills, the promotion of free expression, mutual support and social fellowship.

National Society of Newspaper Columnists
http://www.columnists.com/
Organized to develop, educate and promote newspaper columnists; and to provide the general public with better professional newspaper columnists through education and example.

Native American Journalists Association
http://www.naja.com
Serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures. Encourages both mainstream and tribal media to attain the highest standards of professionalism, ethics and responsibility.

Neiman Foundation for Journalism
http://www.nieman.harvard.edu/
To promote and elevate the standards of journalism and educate persons deemed especially qualified for journalism.

Newspaper Association of America
http://www.naa.org
A nonprofit organization representing the $55 billion newspaper industry, the Association focuses on six key strategic priorities that collectively affect the newspaper industry: marketing, public policy, diversity, industry development, newspaper operations and readership.

Organization of News Ombudsmen
http://www.newsombudsmen.org/
Formed in 1980, ONO is a nonprofit corporation with an international membership. It maintains contact with news ombudsmen worldwide, and organizes annual conferences for discussion of news practices and a wide range of issues connected with ombudsman work.

Religion Newswriters Association
http://www.religionwriters.com/
The professional organization for journalists covering religion news for the secular media

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
http://www.rcfp.org
A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970 in defense of free speech and press freedoms

Society of Environmental Journalists
http://www.sej.org
The only U.S.- based membership organization of working journalists dedicated to improvements in environmental reporting. Primary goal is to advance public understanding of critically important environmental issues through more and better environmental journalism.

Society for News Design
http://www.snd.org
An international professional organization comprised of editors, designers, graphic artists, publishers, illustrators, art directors, photographers, advertising artists, Website designers, students and faculty.

The Society of Professional Journalists
http://www.spj.org
Dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty.

SLA News Division
http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/
The section of the Special Libraries Association that focuses on librarians and libraries dealing with news media in such settings as newspapers, magazines, broadcast organizations, and nontraditional news settings.

Washington Press Club Foundation
http://www.wpcf.org/
A non-profit corporation that exists to make available historic materials on American journalism, to pursue the ideals of equality and excellence in journalism, and to educate the public on the role of a free press.

World Association of Newspapers
http://www.wan-press.org/
A global organization for the newspaper industry that defends and promotes press freedom world-wide. Represents 18,000 newspapers and its membership includes 72 national newspaper associations, individual newspaper executives in 102 countries, 13 news agencies and ten regional and world-wide press groups.

World Press Institute
http://www.worldpressinstitute.org/
Mission is to foster understanding about the role and responsibilities of a free press in a democracy.

Journals & Trade Publications

Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.

American Journalism ISSN 0882-1127
Academic/Scholarly. American Journalism Historians Association. 1982-current
Publishes articles, research notes on the history of journalism and mass communication.

American Journalism Review ISSN 1067-8654
Trade. Philip Merrill College of Journalism, Univ. of Maryland. 1977-current
Examines print, broadcast and online journalism issues.

College Media Review ISSN 0739-1056
Magazine; Academic/Scholarly. College Media Advisors. 1956-current
Refereed section quantifies trends, documents theories, identifies characteristics and disseminates research and information for and about collegiate media and advising. Non-refereed section addresses all facets of collegiate media advising

Columbia Journalism Review ISSN 0010-194X
Academic/Scholarly. Columbia University, Graduate School of Journalism. 1961-current
Reports and comments critically on developments and trends in the world of journalism in several media.

Critical Studies in Media Communication ISSN 1529-5036
Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 1982-current
Focuses exclusively on the range of critical perspectives which help define the expanding area of mediated communication research. Provides an academic forum for interpretive approaches to mass communication theory and research.

Design ISSN 1520-4243
Trade. Society for News Design. 1979-current
Articles of interest to editors and designers of newspapers and newspaper websites.

Editor and Publisher ISSN 0013-094X
Trade. Editor and Publisher Co., Inc. 1884-current
Covers newspaper industry and related businesses. Contains news articles on all facets of newspapering: newsroom & editorial, new media, advertising, circulation, promotion, public relations, production, news services & syndicates, technology, legal, campus journalism, and finance.

Electronic News ISSN 1931-2431
Academic/Scholarly. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 2007-current
Focus on applied scholarship of television or radio newscasts or on a station website. Quarterly

Folio ISSN 0046-4333
Trade. Primedia Business Magazines and Media, Inc. 1972-current
Focuses on all aspects of the marketing, management and distribution of magazines.

Gazette ISSN 0016-5492
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications, Ltd. 1955-current
Publishes wide-ranging articles from the international community of communication scholars, with a particular focus on communication and international relations, communication and development, and new information and communication technologies.

Grassroots Editor ISSN 0017-3541
Trade. International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors. 1960-current
Geared to those interested in community journalism.

The Harvard International Journal of Press and Politics ISSN 1081-180X
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications, Ltd. 1996-current
Analyzes the interaction of the press, politics and public policymaking. Covers a broad spectrum of intellectual disciplines including political communications, journalism and public policy, international news, race, gender and the press, and campaigns and elections.

IRE Journal ISSN 0164-7016
Trade. Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc. 1978-current
Devoted to issues and techniques of information gathering in journalism.

Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media ISSN 0883-8151
Academic/Scholarly. Broadcast Education Association. 1956-current
Scholarly journal of communication and electronic media research, including media uses, effect, regulation, history, organization, advertising, technology, news, and entertainment.

Journal of Mass Media Ethics ISSN 0890-0523
Academic/Scholarly. Laurence Erlbaum Associates, Inc. 1985-current
Stimulates mutually beneficial discussions about mass media ethics and morality among academic and professional groups in the various branches and subdisciplines of communication and ethics.

Journal of the Copyright Society of the U.S.A. ISSN 0886-3520
Academic/Scholarly. Copyright Society of the U.S.A. 1953-current
The authoritative U.S. publication on copyright, the subject to which it is exclusively devoted. Each issue includes articles on significant subjects, notes and summaries of domestic and foreign legislative and administrative developments, and news of important court decisions throughout the world.

Journalism and Communication Monographs ISSN 1522-6379
Academic/Scholarly. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 1966-current
Presents in-depth research on specific topics within journalism and mass communication. Each issue contains an extended article on subjects ranging from journalism history and personalities to international mass communication.

Journalism and Mass Communication Educator ISSN 1077-6958
Academic/Scholarly. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 1945-current

Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly ISSN 1077-6990
Academic/Scholarly. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 1924-current
Focuses on research in journalism and mass communication. Features reports of original investigation, presenting the latest developments in theory and methodology of communication, international communication, journalism history, and social and legal problems.

Journalism History ISSN 0094-7679
Academic/Scholarly. Scripps School of Journalism, Ohio University. 1974-current
Publishes articles on topics related to the full scope of mass communication history, including discussion of individuals, institutions, or events.

Journalism Studies ISSN 1461-670X
Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 2000-current
Addresses journalism topics of interest in all media worldwide.

Journalism: Theory, Practice and Criticism ISSN 1464-8849
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications Ltd. 2000-current
Contributes to the social, economic, political, cultural and practical understanding of journalism, covering current developments and historical changes within the field.

The Masthead ISSN 0832-512X
Trade. North Island Sound Ltd. 1987-current
Covers news, events and issues in the Canadian periodical publishing industry.

Media Culture and Society ISSN 0163-4437
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications Ltd. 1979-current
Provides a major international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.

MediaWeek ISSN 1055-176X
Trade. VNU Business Publications. 1966-current
The latest breaking news in the media business and analysis and commentary that puts that news into perspective.

Mother Jones ISSN 0362-8841
Consumer. Foundation for National Progress. 1976-current
Progressive periodical featuring high-quality investigative reporting, political commentary and features.

New Media & Society ISSN 1461-4448
Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications Ltd. 1999-current
Provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change.

Newspaper Research Journal ISSN 0739-5329
Academic/Scholarly. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 1979-current
Practical research on and discussion of issues interesting to both journalism scholars and newspaper professionals.

Nieman Reports ISSN 0028-9817
Academic/Scholarly. Nieman Foundation. 1947-current
Provides a forum for discussion of media-related issues by journalists, educators, and public figures.

Online Journalism Review ISSN 1522-6883
Trade. Annenberg School for Communication. 1998-current
Casts a critical eye on journalism endeavors on the web, and evaluated the emerging field of online journalism.

PressTime ISSN 0194-3243
Trade. Newspaper Association of America. 1979-current
Covers all aspects of the newspaper business, including technology, telecommunications, computers, public policy, news-editorial, research, readership, circulation, advertising, employee relations, diversity, training and newsprint.

Print ISSN 0032-8510
Trade. Krause Publications, Inc. 1940-current
Disseminates various aspects of graphic design programs with professional input on visual communication: film, animation, environmental and computer graphics.

Publishers Auxiliary ISSN 0048-5942
Trade Newspaper. National Newspaper Association. 1865-current

Quill ISSN 0033-6475
Trade. Society of Professional Journalists. 1912-current
Publishes news, commentary and critique of the news media, both print and broadcast, and trends, research and professional issues concerning journalism.

St. Louis Journalism Review ISSN 0036-2972
Newspaper. St. Louis Journalism Review, Inc. 1970-current
Evaluates media print, broadcast, communications, advertising, public relations and issues often ignored by media

Select Newsletters

AEJMC News ISSN 0747-8909
Newsletter. Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. 1912-current
Contains news of A.E.J.M.C. and journalism and mass communication education, as well as a national placement service for programs seeking candidates for positions in journalism and mass communication.

AIM Report ISSN 0738-7792
Newsletter. Accuracy In Media, Inc. 1972-current
Covers issues related to news media bias, fairness and accuracy.

American Editor ISSN 1083-5210
Newsletter. American Society of Newspaper Editors. 1926-current
Forum for the editors of daily newspapers to discuss their work.

Environment Writer
Newsletter. National Safety Council, Environmental Health Center. 1989-current
Offers tips and resources to print and broadcast journalists and writers specializing in environmental issues.

FOIA Update ISSN 1056-9413
Newsletter. U.S. Department of Justice. 1979-current
Provides information and guidance to federal agencies on F.O.I.A. legislation under consideration, relevant court rulings, and other related issues.

Media Industry Newsletter ISSN 0024-9793
Newsletter; Trade. PBI Media, LLC. 1948-current
Provides current news and information about the marketing and advertising trends in the media industry, especially magazine and newspaper publications.

IPI Global Journalist
Newsletter. International Press Institute. 1952-current
Coverage of press freedom, journalists and journalism, both print and broadcast.

Media Industry Newsletter ISSN 0024-9793
Newsletter; Trade. PBI Media, LLC. 1948-current
Provides current news and information about the marketing and advertising trends in the media industry, especially magazine and newspaper publications.

SND Update ISSN 1520-426X
Newsletter. Society for News Design. 1979-current
Activities and reports of the society.

World Press Freedom Review
Newsletter. International Press Institute. 1952-current
Examines the state of the media in over 176 countries, territories and administered areas, documenting press freedom violations and major media developments all over the world.

About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL
Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu

Original content by: Patrick Reakes
Created: May 1, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List

Updated by: Vicky Lebbin