Library Resources for Communication Studies |
|
Home
|
Collection Development Toolkit
|
Associations & Organizations
|
Scholarly Association Conferences |
Communication Studies Listservs
| Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts |
Media Diversity & Race
Introduction | Subject Keywords | Reference Materials | Periodical Databases/Indexes | Web Sites | Associations/Organizations | Journals/Trade Publications | Videos |
Introduction
This guide suggests resources that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information on media diversity and race. These resources can be used to explore the ways in which the media address diversity (including racial, sexual, and economic) and the ways in which diverse groups play roles in creating media. For resources pertaining specifically to women and media, see the women and media subject guide.
Suggested Subject Keywords
African Americans and mass media
Ethnic press
Gays and popular culture
Gay men and mass media
Hispanic Americans and mass media
Islam and mass media
Lesbians and mass media
Mass media and minorities
Mass media and ethnic relations
Mass media and race relations
Mass media and Social aspects
Minorities and television
Minorities and Press coverage
Minority television viewers
Multiculturalism and mass media
Racism in the press
Stereotype and mass media
Television broadcasting and news and Social aspects
Reference Materials
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography, by James P Danky and Maureen E Hady. Harvard University Press, 1999. ISBN 0674007883
Channeling blackness: studies on television and race in America, by Darnell M Hunt. Oxford University Press, 2005. ISBN 0195167635
Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia, by Steve Hogan and Lee Hudson. DIANE Publishing Company, 2001. ISBN 0788197878
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications, edited by Donald H Johnston. Elsevier Science & Technology Books, 2003. ISBN 0123876702
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture, by Cordelia Candelaria, Peter J Garcia and Arturo J Aldama. Greenwood Publishing Group, Incorporated, 2004. ISBN 0313322155
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics, edited by Jeffrey D Schultz, Kerry L haynie, Anne Merline McCulloch and Andrew l Aoki. Greenwood Publishing Group, Incorporated, 1999. ISBN 1573561290
Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism, edited by Susan Auerbach, Marshall Cavendish. Marshall Cavendish Corporation, 1993. ISBN 1854356704
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies, by Ernest Cashmore. Routledge, 2003. ISBN 0415286743
History of the Mass Media in the United States: an encyclopedia, edited by Margaret A Blanchard. 1998. ISBN 1579580122
Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia, edited by Mary B. Davis, Joan Berman, Mary E. Graham, and Lisa A. Mitten. Garland Pub., 1994. ISBN 0824048466
The Native North American Almanac, edited by Duane Champagne. Farmington Hills, MI.: Gale Group, 2001. ISBN 0787616559
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America, by Carl L Bankston III. Salem Press, Incorporated, 2000. ISBN 0205318037; 978-0205318032
Swingin' on the Ether Waves: A Chronological History of African Americans in Radio and Television Programming, 1925-1955, edited by Henry T. Sampson. Scarecrow Press, 2005. ISBN 0810840871
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic and Native Americans, by Deborah Gillan Straub. Gale Group, 1995. ISBN 0810393786
Periodical Databases/Indexes
Icon Key:
= Paid access
= Free access
= Available electronically
= Available in print
Best Bets:
Alternative Press Index
The Alternative Press Index is a quarterly subject index to over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. The Alternative Press Index is published quarterly in June, September, December and May, with the May issue being a cumulation for the year. Each annual edition contains a selection of abstracts from 50 research journals.
Vendor site: http://www.altpress.org/
Alt-Press Watch
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage. Through investigative reporting by independent and critical sources, these are essential voices pursuing freedom of the press.
Vendor site: http://www.il.proquest.com/
Black Studies Center
The Black Studies Center provides coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. It includes resources from Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (a series of topical studies help define the development of Black Studies as an academic field), historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender, as well as current scholarly journals from International Index to Black Periodicals—Full Text.
Vendor site: http://www.il.proquest.com/
Chicano database
The Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
Vendor site: http://www.rlg.org/en/page.php?Page_ID=176
ComAbstracts
ComAbstracts, produced by CIOS, contains abstracts of articles from over 130 journals and professional publications, primarily in broadcasting, journalism, general communication, mass media, and public relations. ComAbstracts is updated throughout the year, with some coverage starting in 1970.
Vendor site: http://www.cios.org/www/abstract.htm
Communication Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracting of journal articles, books and reports from the literature of communication arts and science. Topics include (among many others) gender and communication, journalism, broadcasting, public opinion, and communication theory. Coverage is 1978 to the present. Updated bimonthly.
Vendor site: http://www.sagepub.com/
Communication Abstracts Online
A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts database, Communication Abstracts Online covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Communication & Mass Media Index provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMI incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create an in-depth research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMI offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 350 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 200 more, for a combined coverage of over 550 titles, some dating as far back as 1915.
Vendor site: http://www.epnet.com/academic/comm&massmedia.asp
Ethnic NewsWatch
This is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.
Vendor site: http://www.il.proquest.com/
First Nations Periodicals Index
The First Nations Periodical Index contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content that provides access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers. This index contains primarily citations to articles, although some full-text is available.
Vendor site: http://www.lights.com/sifc/
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Vendor site: http://www.il.proquest.com/
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.
Vendor site: http://iibp.chadwyck.com/
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/
Web Sites
ASNE: Diversity in newspaper newsrooms
http://www.asne.org/index.cfm?id=1
The American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE) created this list of resources concerning diversity in newsrooms. A majority of the resources listed refer to ASNE resources such as research projects, awards and publications focused on diversity, along with some external links to other organizations.
Civilrights.org: Media Diversity
http://www.civilrights.org/issues/communication/_media/care.html
Home to socially-concerned, issue-oriented original audio, video, and written programming, civilrights.org is committed to serving as the online nerve center not only for the struggle against discrimination in all its forms, but also to build the public understanding that it is essential for our nation to continue its journey toward social and economic justice. The Media Diversity page provides access to feature stories, press releases, reports, speeches, and court decisions related to diversity in media ownership, content and employment.
ERAM: Ethnicity, Racism and Media
http://www.blackagenda.com/cybercolonies/eram/
The ERaM discussion forum is devoted to all aspects pertaining to the role of mass media in generating and disseminating representations of race and ethnicity. Collectively, ERaM provides a global research network open to those academics, media professionals and others engaged in systematic research or professional practice in the area of ethnicity, racism and media. The purpose of this forum is to identify, examine and separate the myths about the role and portrayal of ethnicity and race in the media.
Freedom Forum: Newsroom Diversity
http://www.freedomforum.org/diversity/default.asp
The Freedom Forum is a nonpartisan foundation dedicated to free press, free speech and free spirit for all people. The foundation focuses on three priorities: the Newseum, First Amendment freedoms and newsroom diversity.
GLAAD (Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation): Fair, Accurate, and Inclusive Representation
http://www.glaad.org/
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/indices/NAmedia.html
This is a WWW Virtual Library site that lists an impressive collection of links to Native American newspapers, comic books, journals and magazines, and online newspapers and e-zines.
Media Awareness Network (MNet)
http://www.media-awareness.ca/
This is a bilingual site from The Media Awareness Network, a Canadian non-profit organization dedicated to media literacy and awareness, with special emphasis on teaching young people to look at media critically. Especially relevant to Media Diversity and Race are the site’s pages on issues of Stereotyping and Online Hate.
Native American Public Telecommunications
http://www.nativetelecom.org/
Native American Public Telecommunications seeks proposals from independent and public television producers for Research and Development towards the production of a public television program. We encourage works that address new and current issues reflecting the changing identity of our community, including works that explore issues of universal interest from a unique Native American perspective, that view the history of Native Americans through contemporary stories, that are innovative, original and compelling to a national audience, that focus on under-represented or unheard voices, and that use new technology and/or provide new models for television production.
Native News Online
http://nativenewsonline.org/
Native News is the premiere internet News service for up to the minute news of our nations across Turtle Island, Canada.
NativeWeb
http://www.nativeweb.org/
NativeWeb is an international, nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using telecommunications including computer technology and the Internet to disseminate information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world; to foster communication between native and non-native peoples; to conduct research involving indigenous peoples' usage of technology and the Internet; and to provide resources, mentoring, and services to facilitate indigenous peoples' use of this technology.
Pacific Islanders in Communications (PIC)
http://www.piccom.org/home.php
The mission of Pacific Islanders in Communications is to support, advance, and develop Pacific Island media content and talent that results in a deeper understanding of Pacific Island history, culture, and contemporary challenges.
Poynter Online: Diversity
http://poynter.org/subject.asp?id=5
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists. It stands for a journalism that informs citizens and enlightens public discourse. It carries forward Nelson Poynter's belief in the value of independent journalism. The Diversity resource page provides links to articles in Poynter’s Journalism With a Difference column, a bibliography of online resources pertaining to media diversity, seminars, associations, and other resources.
Associations & Organizations
American Jewish Press Association (AJPA)
http://ajpa.org/
The AJPA is a not-for-profit organization that works to advance American Jewish journalism and to promote cooperation among the Jewish press.
Asian American Journalists Association
http://www.aaja.org
AAJA was formed in 1981 and it’s mission is three-fold: to encourage Asian American and Pacific Islanders to enter the ranks of journalism, to work for fair and accurate coverage of Asian American and Pacific Islanders, to increase the number of Asian American and Pacific Islander journalists and news managers in the industry.
CBS Diversity Institute
http://www.cbsdiversity.com
The CBS Diversity Institute combines three programs: the CBS Writers Mentoring Program, the CBS Directing Initiative and the ongoing Minority Talent Showcases.
Center for Integration and Improvement of Journalism (CIIJ)
http://www.ciij.org/
The Center for Integration and Improvement of Journalism works to make journalism more relevant to and reflective of the demographic groups that is serves. CIIJ provides links to current news on diversity and journalism, as well as information about publications, workshops and services.
National Arab American Journalists Association (NAAJA)
http://www.naaja-us.com/index.html/
NAAJA is a free organization that supports Arab and Muslim American journalists and their publications.
National Association of Black Journalists
http://www.nabj.org
The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide.
National Association of Hispanic Journalists
http://www.nahj.org/
The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry.
National Association of Minority Media Executives
http://www.namme.org/
NAMME is the only organization of managers and executives of color working in both news and business operations, across all media-related fields.
National Association for Multi-Ethnicity in Communications
http://www.namic.com/
NAMIC's mission is to educate, advocate, and empower for multi-ethnic diversity in the communications industry.
National Center on Disability and Journalism
http://www.ncdj.org/
National Center on Disability and Journalism (NCDJ) is an independent journalism education organization whose mission is to work with journalists and educators about disability reporting issues in order to produce more accurate, fair and diverse news reporting.
National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association
http://www.nlgja.org
The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association is an organization of journalists, online media professionals, and students that works from within the journalism industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
National Newspaper Publishers Association
http://www.nnpa.org/
The National Newspaper Publishers Association, also known as the Black Press of America, is a federation of more than 200 Black community newspapers from across the United States.
Native American Journalists Association
http://www.naja.com/
The Native American Journalists Association serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures.
Society for Professional Journalists Diversity Toolbox
http://www.spj.org/dtb.asp
Diversity resources from the Society for Professional Journalists. The toolbox offers essays and links to resources aimed to help journalists broaden the perspectives and voices in their work.
Journals & Trade Publications
Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.
Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies ISSN 1479-1420
(Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. Quarterly. 2004-current)
Critical Studies in Media Communication ISSN 1529-5036
(Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. Quarterly. 1984-current)
Ethnic and Racial Studies ISSN 0141-9870
(Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. Bi-monthly. 1978-current)
Journal of Gender, Race & Justice ISSN 1550-7815
(Academic/Scholarly. University of Iowa, College of Law. Annual. 1997-current)
Journal of Mass Media Ethics: exploring questions of media morality ISSN 0890-0523
(Academic/Scholarly. Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc. Quarterly. 1985-current)
Media, Culture & Society ISSN 0163-4437
(Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications Ltd. Bi-monthly. 1979-current)
Social Identities: journal for the study of race, nation and culture ISSN 1350-4630
(Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. Bi-monthly. 1995-current)
Videos
The Art of Leadership in News Organizations, by Shelby Coffey. Arlinton, VA : Freedom Forum, 2002.
The Black Press: Soldiers Without Swords, by Stanley Nelson, Joe Morton, and others. San Francisco, CA: California Newsreel, 1998.
Color Adjustment, by Marlon T. Riggs, Vivian Kleiman, and others. San Francisco, CA: California Newsreel, 1991.
Cultural Criticism and Transformation, by Sut Jhally and Bell Hooks. Northampton, MA: Media Education Foundation, 1997.
Ethnic Notions, by Marlon T. Riggs and Esther Rolle. San Francisco, CA: California Newsreel, 1986.
KPFA on the Air, by Veronica Selver, Sharon Wood, and others. San Francisco, CA: California Newsreel, 2000.
Killing Us Softly 3, by Jean Kilbourne, and Sut Jhally. Northampton, MA: Media Education Foundation, 2000.
The Media's Influence on the Things We Do, by Gayle Friedman and Amy S. Weber. Monmouth Junction, NJ: Cambridge Educational, 2002.
News Media Convergence, by Al Tomkins, Bob Haiman, and Terence Smith. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2000.
On Television: Public trust or private property, by Mary Megee and Edwin Newman. San Francisco, CA: California Newsreel, 1988.
Race Against Prime Time, written, produced and directed by David Shulman, California Newsreel, 1985.
Tough Guise Violence, Media, and the Crisis in Masculinity, by Sut Jhally and Jackson Katz. Northampton, MA: Media Education Foundation, 1999.
Writing Across Culture: Time Writers Explore Diversity in America, Time Education Program, 1998.
| About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL |
| Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu |
Original content by: Laura Barrett
Created: October 7, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List
Updated by: Erica Carlson