EBSS logoLibrary Resources for Communication Studies
Home | Collection Development Toolkit | Associations & Organizations | Scholarly Association Conferences | Communication Studies Listservs |
Indexes & Abstracts | News Sources | Special Collections| Subject Guides | Vendor Contacts

New Media & Cyberculture

Introduction

This guide presents a non-exhaustive list of resources which may be of interest to librarians, faculty, and students who conduct research on the uses and sociocultural impacts of new media. The disciplines involved include, among others, Communication Studies, Telecommunications, Sociology, and Psychology.

Suggested Subject Keywords

The studies of New Media and Cyberculture are dynamic and multidisciplinary. Listed below are terms that are useful in searching for relevant information. Nevertheless, depending on the specificity of a topic, there can be other (new) terms that will expedite the search.

Blogs
Communication and technology
Computer animation
Computer-mediated communication
Computers and civilization
Computers in literature
Cyberculture
Cyberspace
Cyberspace and social aspects
Cyborgs
Digital media
Digital media and social aspects
Discourse analysis, Literary - Data processing
Human-computer interaction
Hypertext systems
Information technology and social aspects
Interactive multimedia
Internet
Internet and social aspects
Internet games
Literature and technology
Mass media and social aspects
Mass media and technological innovations
Mass media and culture
Multimedia systems
Online interaction
Online journalism
System design
Technology and civilization
Technology - social aspects Telecommunications
Telematics
Telematics and social aspects
Virtual reality
Virtual reality and social aspects
World Wide Web
World Wide Web and social aspects

Reference Materials

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-computer Interaction, edited by William Sims Bainbridge. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing, 2004. ISBN 0974309125

ClickZ Internet Statistics and Demographics
http://www.clickz.com/stats/
A guide to statistics about the uses and users of the Internet.

Communications Industry Forecast & Report. New York: Veronis Suhler Stevenson, 2003 – current. ISSN 1546-0797

Cyberculture: The Key Concepts, by David Bell. London: Routledge, 2004. ISBN 0415247535

Cyberspace Handbook, by Jason Whittaker. London: Routledge, 2004. ISBN 041516835X

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media, edited by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007. ISBN 1412905303

Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology, edited by Steve Jones. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003. ISBN 0761923829

Handbook of New Media: Social Shaping and Consequences of ICTs, edited by Leah A. Lievrouw and Sonia Livingstone. London: Sage, 2002. ISBN 0761965106

Handbook of Task Analysis for Human-computer Interaction, by D. Diaper and Neville Stanton. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2004. ISBN: 0805844325

Handbook of Virtual Environments: Design, Implementation, and Applications, by Kay M. Stanney. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2002. ISBN 080583270X

Human-computer Interaction Handbook: Fundamentals, Evolving Technologies, and Emerging Applications, edited by Julie A. Jacko and Andrew Sears. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2003. ISBN 0805838384

Internet Communication and Qualitative Research: A Handbook for Researching Online, by Chris Mann and Fiona Stewart. London: Sage, 2000. ISBN 0761966269

Internet Encyclopedia, edited by Hossein Bidgoli. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, 2004. ISBN 047122202X.

NetLingo: The Internet Language Dictionary
http://www.netlingo.com/inframes.html
An online dictionary about the terminologies for the Internet, telecommunications, and new media.

Plunkett’s Telecommunications Industry Almanac. Houston: Plunkett Research, 2000 – current. ISSN 1550-4514

Periodical Databases/Indexes

Icon Key: = Paid access    = Free access    = Available electronically    = Available in print

Best Bets:

Communication Abstracts Paid Access Available electronically Available in print
Communication Abstracts indexes and abstracts communication-related publications. Updated bi-monthly and including materials published since 1977, the database covers articles, reports, papers, and books. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication, and public opinions.
Vendor site: http://www.sagepub.com/journal.aspx?pid=10201

Communication & Mass Media Complete Paid Access Available electronically
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies – CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Provides indexing and select full text covering various aspects of communication and mass media. Some coverage from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century.
Vendor site: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=56

ComAbstracts Paid Access Available electronically
ComAbstracts is a database of article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.). Expanded and updated throughout the year, with some coverage back to early 1970’s.
Vendor site: http://www.cios.org/www/abstract.htm

PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) 1840-present Paid Access Available electronically Available in print
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications. Of special is extensive coverage of cross-cultural and intercultural psychology and cognitive science. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Available from multiple vendors, in print and CDROM.
Vendor site: http://www.apa.org/psycinfo/products/psycinfo.html

Sociological Abstracts 1963-present Paid Access Available electronically Available in print
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Topics covered include culture and social structure, demography and human biology, and social psychology and group interaction. Also available in print.
Vendor site: http://www.csa.com/
Publisher site: http://www.scglabstrc.qpg.com/

Additional Useful Databases:

Academic Search Premier Paid Access Available electronically
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Vendor site: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=1

Social Science Full Text Paid Access Available electronically
This database covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. The coverage starts from the 1980’s and is updated daily.
Vendor site: http://www.hwwilson.com/databases/socsci.htm

Web Sites

Bibliography of Cyber Culture Books/Texts/Theory
http://mason.gmu.edu/~montecin/cyberbiblio.htm
A bibliography of books and articles that discuss cyberculture. At the end is a list of relevant online bibliographies.

Choosing Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) Appropriate Research Methods (CHARM)
http://www.otal.umd.edu/hci-rm/index.html
This web site provides a useful index of the methods and methodologies used in HCI research. The goal is to assist the user in selecting the most appropriate method for a researcher’s specific interest.

Cyber Culture/Hypermedia Resources
http://mason.gmu.edu/~montecin/cyber-resources.htm
An extensive list of Internet resources for cyberculture issues such as accessibility to the disabled, digital divide, privacy, ethics, gender, e-commerce, etc.

Cybercultures
http://www.wsu.edu/%7Eamerstu/pop/cyber.html
A list of organizations, electronic journals, and online articles that focus on the studies of cyberculture.

Cybersoc.com
http://www.cybersoc.com/
A resource for social scientists who are interested in the study of cyberculture, cyberspace, computer-mediated communication, and online communities. The web site provides links to online articles, bibliographies, and tools for online community building.

Cyberspace, Hypertext, & Critical Theory
http://www.cyberartsweb.org/cpace/
This web site discusses various issues related to cyberspace, such as cyborg, cyber art, information technology, gender matters, etc. The majority of the materials on the web site came from student projects at Brown University.

Digital Media: Hypertext, Cybernetics, Cyborgs & Virtual Realities
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/digitalmedia/
A list of Internet resources for studying the sociocultural issues of using digital media and information technology.

H-DigiRhet
http://www.h-net.org/~digirhet/
An online discussion board and LISTSERV for "for teachers, researchers, and scholars who are working at the intersections of writing, rhetoric, communication, and digital technologies, focusing on issues of digital composition, computer-mediated communication (CMC), digital literacy, information and communication technologies (ICTs), human-computer interaction (HCI) and digital rhetoric."

HomeNet Project
http://homenet.hcii.cs.cmu.edu/progress/index.html
An ongoing research project to understand people’s use of the Internet at home.

Pew Internet & American Life Project
http://www.pewinternet.org/
This web site provides access to academic studies of the Internet’s growth and social impacts.

trAced: Cyberculture and Theory
http://trace.ntu.ac.uk/traced/theory.htm
An annotated list of online publications that discuss the sociocultural issues stemming from the ubiquity of information technology in daily life.

Web Credibility Project
http://credibility.stanford.edu/
The Project focuses on understanding what leads people to believe what they find on the World Wide Web. Its goal is to enhance web site design and promote future research on web credibility.

World Internet Project
http://www.worldinternetproject.net/
The Project is designed to watch and document what happens as households and nations acquire and use the Internet. It is the Project’s intent to expand to include all the regions of the world.

Associations, Organizations, & Government Agencies

Association of Internet Researchers (AOIR)
http://www.aoir.org/
A resource and support network that promotes critical and scholarly Internet research independent from traditional disciplines and existing across academic borders.

Berkman Center for Internet & Society
http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/home/
The Center’s mission is to explore and understand cyberspace, its development, dynamics, norms, standards, and need or lack thereof for laws and sanctions.

Center for Digital Discourse and Culture (CDDC)
http://www.cddc.vt.edu/index2.html
CDDC provides a digital points-of-publication for new forms of scholarly communication, academic research, and cultural analysis.

Center for Digital Storytelling
http://www.storycenter.org/
A not-for-profit organization dedicated to assisting people in using digital media to tell meaningful stories.

Center for Social Informatics (CSI)
http://rkcsi.indiana.edu/
CSI is dedicated to research on the roles of information technology in social and organizational change.

Center for the Digital Future
http://www.digitalcenter.org/
An organization that explores the leading issues in media and communications, including the World Internet Project and other programs that examine the impact of information technology.

Communication & Information Technologies (CITASA)
http://citasa.org/
A section of the American Sociological Association, CITASA supports the research and teaching of social aspects of computing, the Internet, new media, computer networks, and other information technologies.

Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
http://www.fcc.gov/
A government agency that is directly responsible to Congress and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable.

Institute for CyberInformation (ICI)
http://www.kent.edu/ici/
An interdisciplinary research center to promote the application and integration of digital content, design, and technologies through partnerships and outreach programs with business and educational communities.

Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Emerging Technologies (CITÉ)
http://www.cite.umontreal.ca/
CITÉ concentrates on studying the various networks within which technology and society co-evolve.

International Communication Association (ICA)
http://www.icahdq.org/
ICA is an international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communications.

Internet Society (ISOC)
http://www.isoc.org/
ISOC provides leadership in addressing issues that confront the future of the Internet. It is the home for the groups responsible for Internet infrastructure standards.

National Communication Association (NCA)
http://www.natcom.org/
NCA focuses on the study of how messages in various media are produced, used, and interpreted within and across different contexts, channels, and cultures.

National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
http://www.ntia.doc.gov/
The Federal Government’s principal voice on domestic and international telecommunications and information technology issues.

NetLab
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/~wellman/netlab/index.html
A scholarly network studying computer networks, communication networks, and social networks with the overarching interest in how the Internet affects everyday life at work, in the community, and among family members.

Oxford Internet Institute (OII)
http://www.oii.ox.ac.uk
OII is devoted to the study of the societal implications of the Internet. It seeks to shape research, policy, and practice around the world.

Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies (RCCS)
http://www.com.washington.edu/rccs/default.asp
An online, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to research, teach, support, and create diverse and dynamic elements of cyberculture. The different sections of the web site provide useful information on studying cyberculture.

Social Media Group (SMG)
http://smg.media.mit.edu/
SMG investigates issues concerning society and identity in the networked world, and focuses on building experimental interfaces and installations that explore new forms of social interaction in the mediated world. Information about SMG’s researchers and their papers are available on the web site.

Journals & Trade Publications

Note: For title changes consult a serials directory such as Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.

CTheory
(Academic/Scholarly. CTheory Editorial Board. 1993 – current)
An online academic journal of theory, technology, and culture. It publishes articles, interviews, and book reviews, and is available free at http://www.ctheory.net/default.asp

First Monday ISSN 1396-0466
(Academic/Scholarly. First Monday Editorial Group. 1996 – current)
An online peer-reviewed journal that focuses on discussions of the social impacts of the Internet and telecommunications. It is available free at http://www.firstmonday.org/

Game Studies
(Academic/Scholarly. Games Studies. 2001 – current)
An online cross-disciplinary journal dedicated to computer game research. It explores the cultural genre of games and provides a channel for the discussion of games and gaming. It is available free at http://www.gamestudies.org/

Information, Communication and Society ISSN 1369-118X
(Academic/Scholarly. Routledge. 1998 – current)
An academic journal that explores a diverse range of issues relating to the development and application of information and communications technologies.

Information Society ISSN 0197-2243
(Academic/Scholarly. Taylor & Francis. 1981 – current)
An academic journal that serves as a forum for commentaries about impacts, policies, systems concepts, and methodologies related to the emerging information society.

Interpersonal Computing and Technology Journal (IPCT-J)
(Academic/Scholarly. Association for Educational Communications and Technology, 1993-1999; 2002; 2004 – current)
Focuses on computer-mediated communication, and the pedagogical issues surrounding the use of computers and technology in educational settings. The journal is available free at http://www.emoderators.com/ipct-j/

IT & Society
(Academic/Scholarly. Stanford Institute for the Quantitative Study of Society, Stanford University. 2002 – current)
An online academic journal that studies how technology affects society. It is available free at http://www.stanford.edu/group/siqss/itandsociety/

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication ISSN 1083-6101
(Academic/Scholarly. Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California. 1995 – current)
An online academic journal on the social impacts of telecommunications and computer-mediated communication. It is available free at http://jcmc.indiana.edu/

Journal of Online Behavior ISSN 1092-4790
(Academic/Scholarly. Department of Language, Literature, and Communication, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. 2000 – current)
An online academic journal dedicated to the empirical study of human behavior online. It is available free at http://www.behavior.net/JOB/

Media, Culture and Society ISSN 0163-4437
(Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 1979 – current)
An academic journal that provides a forum for discussions concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural, and historical contexts.

Media-N
(Academic/Scholarly. New Media Caucus. 2005 – current)
A peer-reviewed, open access academic journal focusing on digital and media arts. It is available free at: http://www.newmediacaucus.org/media-n/index.htm

New Media and Society ISSN 1461-4448
(Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 1999 – current)
An academic journal that encourages critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media developments, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research.

Sage Full-Text Collections: Communication Studies Paid Access Available electronically
This database includes the full text of 16 journals published by Sage Publications and participating societies. The coverage of some journals goes back 20 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
Vendor site: http://www.sagefulltext.com/home.aspx?id=1

Sage Full-Text Collections: Sociology Paid Access Available electronically
This database includes the full text of 30 journals published by Sage Publications and participating societies, encompassing over 10,000 articles. The coverage starts from early 1980’s.
Vendor site: http://www.sagefulltext.com/home.aspx?id=1

Television & New Media ISSN 1527-4764
(Academic/Scholarly. Sage Publications. 2000 – current)
An academic journal that addresses questions of how issues of economics and power are enacted in television and new media.

Statistics

ClickZ Internet Statistics and Demographics
http://www.clickz.com/stats/
A guide to statistics about the uses and users of the Internet.

HomeNet Project
http://homenet.hcii.cs.cmu.edu/progress/index.html
An ongoing research project to understand people~Rs use of the Internet at home.

Internet Dimensions. New York: Media Dynamics, 2001 – current. ISSN 1542-8699

Pew Internet & American Life Project
http://www.pewinternet.org/ This web site provides access to academic studies of the Internet~Rs growth and social impacts.

Web Characterization
http://www.oclc.org/research/projects/archive/wcp/default.htm
This project conducts an annual survey to analyze trends in the size and content of the World Wide Web.

World Internet Project
http://www.worldinternetproject.net/
The Project is designed to watch and document what happens as households and nations acquire and use the Internet. It is the Project~Rs intent to expand to include all the regions of the world.

About this site | Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee | EBSS | ACRL
Send questions, comments, or suggestions about this site to e-resources@listserv.uiuc.edu

Content by: Adrian Ho
Created: September 30, 2004
Electronic Resources in Communication Studies Committee Member List