[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] SIS 201 Sources Toolkit : Pathfinder [an error occurred while processing this directive]

SIS 201

Introduction to International Political Economy

[an error occurred while processing this directive][an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Sources Toolkit
Introduction
Reference sources
Books
Newspaper and magazines
Scholarly journals
Conference papers
Government publications
Primary sources
Invisible college
Selected resources
See what you've learned
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Selected resources for SIS 201
(print, human, and online)

The following information resources may be helpful to you as you do research for your course assignments for SIS 201. This is not a comprehensive list, but a list of key resources.

If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, consult with a librarian !

Table of Contents

Background Information
Books
Maps
Article databases
Historical Statistics
Electronic Journals
Citing your sources
Getting help with your writing
Consulting with a Librarian

Background information

Some of these sources are on the Internet, and others are reference books located in the library.

Britannica Online
Electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica; open to UW students only

Library of Congress Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Many countries are included here. If you don't find your country, check the UW Libraries Catalog to see if we have a book version of the country study.

Europa Regional Surveys of the World
in print at Odegaard and Suzzallo Reference; call numbers vary--consult the catalog by clicking the link above

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
Odegaard Reference DT351 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Asian History
Odegaard Reference DS 31 E53 1988

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Odegaard Reference F1406 E53 1996

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East
Odegaard Reference DS 43 E53 1996

Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
Odegaard Reference E 183.7 E53 1997 Worldmark

Encyclopedia of the Nations
Odegaard Reference G63 W67 1995

Other subject encyclopedias

UW Libraries Catalog

back to table of contents

Books

UW Libraries Catalog

back to table of contents

Maps

Perry-Castaņeda Library Map Collection
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/Map_collection.html

Article databases and indexes

Expanded Academic Index
To find scholarly journal articles, be sure to click on the limit button which limits your search to refereed publications.

Geobase

Historical Abstracts

PAIS International

Social Sciences Citation Index (aka "Web of Science")

back to table of contents

Historical Statistics

International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993 Suzzallo Reference HA 4675 M552 1998

International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-1993 Suzzallo Reference HA 1107 M5 1998

International Historical Statistics : the Americas, 1750-1993 Suzzallo Reference HA175 .M55 1998

back to table of contents

Electronic Journals

Journals in Asian History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/AsianHistory/dr/eljnl.html

Electronic Journals in European History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/EuropeanHistory/dr/eljnl.html

Electronic Journals in Russian and East European History http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/RussiaEastEuropeHist/dr/eljnl.html

Internet Resources African History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/tm/africa.html

Asian History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/tm/asian.html

European History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/tm/europe.html

Latin American History
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/History/tm/latin.html

back to table of contents

Citing your sources

Chicago Manual of Style Form Guide
http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/guides/chicagogd.html

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

The UW Libraries have many citation style books. To find them, do a keyword search for "style manuals."

Getting help with your writing (writing centers at UW)

History Writing Center

Political Science Writing Center

Sociology Writing Center

back to table of contents

Consulting a librarian

There are many different ways to get help!

back to table of contents

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

 

©University of Washington Information Literacy Learning 2001 [an error occurred while processing this directive][an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]